Big ships and gravity wells.

Let the flames roll in...
Err... yeah, well I suppose you can talk about other stuff as well, maybe?

Moderator: Halleck

omegakent
Explorer
Explorer

Big ships and gravity wells.

Post by omegakent »

Greetings, here for asking assistance, now.
It's my first time using massive ships, this time a Mule. I bought it in Visedevas system, and equipped it. I made some local system trade runs, profitting me decently, and then I tried for a jump. Not enough energy. Well, at the time, I was not able to remember nor checked what should I buy, but it's not the problem: I switched to my agile Derivative, and traveled to Sol/Luna, looking for heavy tractor beams. With my Derivative I reached Luna, switched back to my shining Mule, bought the heavy tractor beams, and went for trade runs.
As I have some cash saved, I decided to buy almost everything in each planet. So I started with Luna, then Earth, followed Starfortress 4 (and no the others as I noticed SF have nothing for me), next Mars, Phobos, Deimos, tried for a Commerce Center near Mars but... it seems there is some interference... and after that, Vesta and finally Jupiter. Well, obviously it's hard to imagine there could be something in Jupiter, as it's a gaseous giant, but who knows: Rlaan lives in gaseous giants, so I used autopilot and went there.
Problem was that Autopilot (that little thing) dropped me at only 5200 km from the surface. Docking ready, and I docked, just to find there was nothing. And when I tried to leave, it was all the hell. I spent 1 hour to leave the planet, with an insane speed of 11 km/s. It was not that bad, if it weren't that it took me 1 hour to reach that speed with my Mule, and it will take me another hour to get to the opposite direction, as my destination is behind Jupiter.
Any suggestion, please? I'm still trying to deaccelerate.
"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent." Salvor Hardin in Foundation, by Isaac Asimov. New York, 1943.
pheonixstorm
Elite