Dual monitor

Talk among developers, and propose and discuss general development planning/tackling/etc... feature in this forum.
thorax23
Atmospheric Pilot
Atmospheric Pilot

Dual monitor

Post by thorax23 »

Not being a coder, I just wondered if it would be possible to use 2 or three monitors for the game? Or would that involve a very hefty coding time?
I just thought that it would be nice to have the side wievs on seperate monitors, and maybe even do a small code for a 4 line alfanumeric LCD on the parallel port.
MC707
Venturer
Venturer

Re: Dual monitor

Post by MC707 »

now this is an interesting idea. I wonder if this is possible, as I myself might get a new monitor someday this summer.
My Machine: OS: Ubuntu 8.10 (intrepid) 64 bit in a 500GB Maxtor HD @ 7200 RPM, Windows Vista PsyChoses Edition 2009 32 bit in a 500GB Samsung HD @ 7200 RPM CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz GPU: nVidia GeForce 9400 GT @ 1024 MB RAM: 3891 MB
Earthlings|The End of the Internet?|FreeWebsite
th3flyboy
Star Pilot
Star Pilot

Post by th3flyboy »

it's been done in various games such as FSX, ArmA, DCS Black Shark, and various others. It should be possible, however I would want to get the game ported to OGRE first, as then it would really be worth it. Remember that 3 monitors would really be major only in 3d space, and in a 2d engine, it's kind of pointless.
Gravity? What's that?
RedAdder
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter

Post by RedAdder »

You could try to set funny resolutions like 3072x768 and see whether it spills over.
Neskiairti
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative

Post by Neskiairti »

well, something ive been toying with...

two screens, one is the primary generic gameplay screen, the other would be for hud objects, indicators, and what not.