Planetary code

The point of no return for both Ogre ports. Permanent links will be stickied on top with current information of each port (Lua and Python)

Moderators: ghoulsblade2, strook

Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1363
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:42 pm

Re: Planetary code

Post by Deus Siddis »

ezee wrote:Thank you for this tip .
But i have already tried that ( at my first attempt :wink: ) , with the llama , without success.
Okay I just successfully converting the llama to obj on windows 7. (What operating system are you using by the way?)

I had to run windows Command Prompt as administrator to get mesher to work through it.
Then, in command prompt, I navigated to the main vega strike directory where mesher needs to be located to work correctly and where I had moved the bfxm to.
And then I used the command:

Code: Select all

mesher llama.bfxm llama.obj boc
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:47 am
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Planetary code

Post by ezee »

Thank you for the help .

I have windows xp .
I made a shortcut of the command prompt in the folder of Mesher .
Then paste the .bxfm in the same folder
With the same parameters than you in commandline , mesher crashes ( .mtl file and obj
are created but with 0 ko .)

It's the 0.5.1 rc1 release
:?:

Code: Select all

 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }
Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:47 am
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Planetary code

Post by ezee »

sorry , double post ...
:arrow:

Code: Select all

 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }
Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1363
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:42 pm

Re: Planetary code

Post by Deus Siddis »

Well that is strange, I have done the same conversion on xp many times (and using the same release of VS too)...

Which folder is mesher sitting in?
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:47 am
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Planetary code

Post by ezee »

The path is something like :
d:/program/experimental/data/...

...where win32 binaries are , with mesher .
I also tried to use Mesher inside the original SVN/bin folder , with same results .

My xp version is service pack 3 , but i don't think that is the problem here .
You suggested to check the admin rights , that could have been a problem under vista
or seven , 8 .
Mesher is able to read the files ( if i do llama.obj llama.bxfm , the output report a bad end of file , where the program was waiting a B) , but it can't write , i will try to find out why . ( read/write access in the folder ?)
Perhaps it's only my local problem , but perhaps other artists that are more shy than me don't report the problems , and go away .

So have a pack of .obj ready to use could be a good idea .
Also in term of productivity ( one time for all conversion )

Thank you again for your help .

Code: Select all

 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }
Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:47 am
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Planetary code

Post by ezee »

Back to planets , my road is now :
Libnoise
A portable, open-source, coherent noise-generating library for C++
Tutorial 8: Creating spherical planetary terrain

In this tutorial, you'll generate a terrain height map that can be seamlessly wrapped around a sphere. These kinds of height maps are ideal for creating your own planets.
Image
This height map system could be used also to define raw material zones , for mining purpose .
With flat lands generated for city's etc ...
That's the way i go now .

Edith : I've found a python lib too :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/noisel ... rce=navbar
noiselib is a Python library inspired by the C++ libnoise. noiselib strives to provide a 'Pythonic' interface, without sacrificing speed. The noise generators are implemented using the C Python API.

Code: Select all

 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }
Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:47 am
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Planetary code

Post by ezee »

I have played with the Perlin noise generator in c++ , it is cool for setup a planet out of the game . ( the original libnoise create a file on disc , we want to create a file as stream for the gpu )
So we need dynamic generation , and modify the octaves and frequency ( params for LOD ) in game . The only solution i saw was to use the gpu via the shaders , and that's the way peopo' use :
Example of modified perlin noise code:
http://www.sci.utah.edu/~leenak/IndStud ... 20GPU.html

Some cg code are provided as you seen, and Ogre3d supports cG too :
http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-ind ... +Materials

I think it could be possible too to implement a procedural code to VS , by following step by step
stages . One step is to find what kind of shaders we could use for the perlin noise factory .

:idea: Pyglet could be used to test this planetary code outside of VS first ( but using the gfx format ? ), as it supports shaders , and python can run noiselib too .

Code: Select all

 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }
Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:40 am
Location: chthonic safety

Re: Planetary code

Post by TBeholder »

Deus Siddis wrote:I had to run windows Command Prompt as administrator to get mesher to work through it.
What permissions it wanted? Did you try it under Process Explorer?
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1363
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:42 pm

Re: Planetary code

Post by Deus Siddis »

It does not say anything about permissions, it just quietly fails unless you know to run as administrator. Running VS itself is the exact same deal. Microsoft no longer wants its sheeplebase wandering outside the pen, so it closes the gate to unapproved software anyway it can. :)

I did not try using Process Explorer (never heard of it until now), what would that reveal?
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:40 am
Location: chthonic safety

Re: Planetary code

Post by TBeholder »

Gives a log of certain system requests (file i/o, registry access, DLLs), whether they failed, were denied or passed, etc, with filter (e.g. dropping everything not for "mesher.exe"). So if it doesn't have privileges, you see which. Administraton of NT and derivatives to accomodate non-trivial new software without this is mostly guesswork.
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Planetary code

Post by loki1950 »

I never had a issue with it back when I still used XP :wink: and no problem with Win7 now if I can it built on my fedora 20 side :roll: Will post the relevant log snippet to the proper place once I am back *nix side :)

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: Planetary code

Post by klauss »

Deus Siddis wrote:
ezee wrote: So you say that make a .obj is easy ...
Ok.
Do you use Mesher in place and give the paths to the bxfm files ?
Or copy mesher in the folder containing the bxfm ?
Because the paths could be long ya know .
You cannot move mesher because it has dependencies, if I recall correctly.

But you can and should copy the bfxm and move it to mesher. Much faster than typing and mistyping long paths into a command line program.
Ehm... just add mesher's dir to the PATH environment?
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1363
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:42 pm

Re: Planetary code

Post by Deus Siddis »

Oh yeah...
Post Reply