CVS compile errors

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
Post Reply
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

CVS compile errors

Post by pontiac »

After Surfdargent mentioned some fixes for compiling under cygwin here i finally retried to compile the game under cygwin.

My procedure:

Code: Select all

aclocal
 autoconf
 automake -a --add-missing
  ./configure --enable-debug --enable-nosdl --enable-nogtk --with-gl-lib-name=opengl32 --with-glu-lib-name=glu32 --with-png-inc=/usr/include/libpng12 --disable-sound --enable-boost-128
 make

my logs/errors:
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... config.log Don't know why it complains about al.h????
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stderr.txt
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stderr.txt
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stdout.txt

I don't get anything out of this :?
Can somebody give me a hit?

Pontiac
Last edited by pontiac on Tue Jul 01, 2003 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

it seems like it dies when trying to -lSDL

do you have SDL installed

if not maybe you can configure without SDL
./configure --disable-sdl or something

look in configure.in
./configure --help too
also try
make -k

maybe it made the important stuff like the vegastrike in src dir
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Updated the configure parameters in my first post (they were wrong)
i used the param
--enable-nosdl
instead of
--disable-sdl

will try it with this

Thanks for the answer
Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

--enable-nosdl is right!

if that gives you linker errors
try make -k

if that doens't work then paste the compile line and take out the -lSDL
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

--enable-nosdl is right!

if that gives you linker errors
try make -k
Tried it and it gave me the same errors as before.
if that doens't work then paste the compile line and take out the -lSDL
What do you mean with compile line?
Do you mean the last (c++ .....) one shown in the stdout?

Pontiac

PS: Compiling it really time consuming on my computer (~70min), how long does it take for everybody else to compile VS?
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Tried the last line

Code: Select all

c++  -g3 -Wall -DNOMINMAX -pipe  -L/usr/X11R6/lib  -o soundserver  inet.o soundserver.o -L/usr/local/lib -lSDL -lSDL_mixer -lXi -lXmu  -luser32 -lgdi32 -lutil  -lopengl32  -lglu32  -lglut32  -lXi -lXmu  -lexpat  -lpng  -ljpeg /lib/python2.2/config/libpython2.2.dll.a  -Xlinker -export-dynamic
without the -lSDL and the -lSDL_mixer parameter in /src/networking and it gave me no errors/messages, so i think it has finished., but how do i say make to really ignore SDL?

Pontiac
Surfdargent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:28 am
Location: Reunion Island
Contact:

Post by Surfdargent »

Oh, this is about the soundserver... in that case if you have no SDL lib it will fail. Even if you configured without SDL.
Just try a make -k as Daniel suggested. I used that for a while on my mac to bypass soundserver compiling.

Anyway, if you want SDL libs tell me I have them on my cygwin box.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Surfdargent wrote:Oh, this is about the soundserver... in that case if you have no SDL lib it will fail. Even if you configured without SDL.
Just try a make -k as Daniel suggested. I used that for a while on my mac to bypass soundserver compiling.
Tried to let it compile with make -k over night , but in ran out of disk space :roll:.
Will make some more space and retry it :D.
Anyway, if you want SDL libs tell me I have them on my cygwin box.
If i can't get it to compile this time i will sure try it with them. Thanks.

Pontiac

PS: for cygwin the precompiled libs from ww.sdl.org will not work, wont they?
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

finally got it to compile :twisted:
My first self compiled game 8)

120MB vegastrike.exe ... whoah... is this debug info ?


My way

Code: Select all

aclocal
autoconf
automake -a --add-missing
./configure --enable-debug --enable-nosdl --enable-nogtk --with-gl-lib-name=opengl32 --with-glu-lib-name=glu32 --with-png-inc=/usr/include/libpng12 --disable-sound --enable-boost-128 --disable-sdl
make -k 2>make_stderr.txt >make_stdout.txt
...wait some days until it stops.....

run the last c++ line in make_stdout.txt in the right directory:

Code: Select all

cd ./src/networking
c++  -gdwarf-2 -g3 -Wall -DNOMINMAX -pipe  -L/usr/X11R6/lib  -o soundserver inet.o soundserver.o -L/usr/local/lib -lXi -lXmu  -luser32 -lgdi32 -lutil  -lopengl32  -lglu32  -lglut32  -lXi -lXmu  -lexpat  -lpng  -ljpeg /lib/python2.2/config/libpython2.2.dll.a  -Xlinker -export-dynamic
cd ../..
removed the -lSDL and the -lSDL_mixer parameters

Code: Select all

make -k 2>make_stderr2.txt >make_stdout2.txt
Copying the vegastrike.exe and all the needed dlls (ZLIB.DLL cygwin1.dll cygexpat-0.dll cygjpeg6b.dll cygpng12.dll cygz.dll) to the data4.x folder.

All the slow menues in the stations are gone and at some parts the game is loading faster now.
Though no sound without SDL :?

Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

what if you use the old soundserver.exe that is compiled with vegastrike0.3.9

maybe you have to rename it to soundserver
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

hellcatv wrote:what if you use the old soundserver.exe that is compiled with vegastrike0.3.9

maybe you have to rename it to soundserver
Thanks for the tip, i will try that the next time.

Unfortunately i just updated my cvs-date (vegastrike + data4.x) and tried to recompile it (because of the ratation-issue) but got errors again.
The stderr says it can't remake the target 'all' bacause of errors. But it doesn't say which errors in the logs ??

My procedure

Code: Select all

 make clean
aclocal
autoconf
automake -a --add-missing
./configure --enable-debug --enable-nosdl --enable-nogtk --with-gl-lib-name=opengl32 --with-glu-lib-name=glu32 --with-png-inc=/usr/include/libpng12 --disable-sound --enable-boost-128 --disable-sdl
make -k 2>make_stderr.txt >make_stdout.txt
And the logs as usual:
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... config.log
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stderr.txt
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stdout.txt

Does anybody getting something out of this?

Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

strange that my compiler didn't break on that

anyhow I committed
thanks
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Guest

Post by Guest »

Pleased to help :D
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

damn timeout, last post was me :-)
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

let me know if it builds now
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

currently updating cvs, will tell you if it works
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

what exactly (file) has changed?
With cvs i'm not always sure i get really the latest files.

Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

hmm I think it was the file with the error


you can just replace

static whatevervar
with

static int whatevervar


I think sourceforge.net decided to put anonymous checkout on backup server
if you have a sourceforge login account I can give you read privs if that would help you
do you know how to use ssh with cvs./..then you're always up to date

what sf.net acct have you?
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

hellcatv wrote:hmm I think it was the file with the error


you can just replace

static whatevervar
with

static int whatevervar


I think sourceforge.net decided to put anonymous checkout on backup server
Checked the history yesterday and today and there was no change, so i think that's what sf.net does.
Do you know if this is temporary or permanent?

EDIT: Answer is here:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/view ... e/#dirlist
"NOTE: ViewCVS is currently running against the backup CVS server; data shown may be up to 24 hours old. "
what sf.net acct have you?
Sorry, i don't have one.

Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

make a sourceforge.net account (it's free, painless, no spam) and then tell me what it is so you can run on the frontdown server (instead of the backup :-PPPP )
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
wip
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 8:21 pm
Location: Hungary

vegastrike/src - Makefile:504: *** missing separator. Stop.

Post by wip »

Hi!

I have problem compiling the latest(5 min old) CVS, it always write:

make[2]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/src'
Makefile:504: *** missing separator. Stop.

make_stderr.txt:
Makefile:504: *** missing separator. Stop.
Makefile:243: *** missing separator. Stop.
Makefile:219: *** missing separator. Stop.
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `all'.
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2
make_stdout.txt:
cd . && autoheader
touch ./config.h.in
cd . && /bin/sh ./config.status config.h
config.status: creating config.h
config.status: config.h is unchanged
make all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike'
Making all in src
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/src'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/src'
Making all in objconv
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/objconv'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/objconv'
Making all in launcher
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/launcher'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/launcher'
Making all in tools
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/tools'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike/tools'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike'
cd . && /bin/sh ./config.status config.h
config.status: creating config.h
config.status: config.h is unchanged
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/webi/vega/vegastrike'
I don't know what to do and how, please help me!

i'm using Linux/Debian(sid) (uptodate)

is there anything i need to paste?

ps.: sorry 4 my bad english :/
first i was afraid because of that, but i can't solve it alone :(

-wip-
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

This seem to be the same problem happened to me some time ago.
Makefile.am has some missing TAB-spaces in front of some lines.
See this thread for the old thread:
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/forum ... 0480#10480

Pontiac
wip
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 8:21 pm
Location: Hungary

Makefile:504: *** missing separator. Stop.

Post by wip »

So it's a known problem... i hope somebody'll give an easy solution, soon..i want to plaaaay...

i forget to write in the prev. post, the debian and the windows one is working, but there are upgrades in the game which i can't live witouth :cry:

-wip-
wip
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 8:21 pm
Location: Hungary

help!

Post by wip »

Should anybody give me instructions what can i do?
This makefile (?) problem should be solved? when? I just want to play :(
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Just do the same as i did in the linked thread.
Just insert a [TAB]-space on the beginning of every line (in Makefile.am) that doesn't already has one.

Then remake the whole process (aclocal..whatever..autoheader....configure make)

This should work fine. Unfortunately i can't check it becasue my make-process breaks on another problem :-(

Pontiac
Post Reply