gcc seg fault with svn10779

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
Post Reply
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

gcc seg fault with svn10779

Post by loki1950 »

yeah twice :shock: here is the tag end of make

Code: Select all

then mv -f "src/cmd/.deps/vegastrike-collide_map.Tpo" "src/cmd/.deps/vegastrike-collide_map.Po"; else rm -f "src/cmd/.deps/vegastrike-collide_map.Tpo"; exit 1; fi
src/cmd/collide_map.cpp: In member function ‘Collidable* CollideArray::insert(const Collidable&, Collidable*)’:
src/cmd/collide_map.cpp:546: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <URL:http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla> for instructions.
The bug is not reproducible, so it is likely a hardware or OS problem.
make: *** [src/cmd/vegastrike-collide_map.o] Error 1
[denis@localhost vegastrike]$
don't know enough to comment on what happened :?


Enjoy the Choice :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Post by klauss »

What's your gcc --version?
I had similar things with 3.3.1, and only a boost change made my life easier.
Anyway, that's a bitch - if it persists (sometimes it goes away - they happen very randomly, when they do, and the most unrelated code change may fix it - veeery indirectly).

You have two (or three) options:
a) Change gcc versions
b) Change boost versions
c) Send the bug report and wait (not to us... to the gcc people)
d) rm -rf /* (just kidding)
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

in my xp install atm but it's fedora's default 4.01 i believe will post with the full particular latter of course the reboot may fixit :roll: if it persists i probally need a wee bit of help to file it properly as for the manual how's RUTE :wink:

Enjoy the Choice :)

Edit: [denis@localhost ~]$ gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 4.1.1 20060525 (Red Hat 4.1.1-1)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Post by ace123 »

First of all, I recommend using gcc-4.0 if you have it...

GCC 4.1, on my Debian machine compiles, but takes 5 extra minutes to link *each* binary, with the bottleneck being the CPU rather than hard drive (also taking up hundreds of MB of RAM) -- i.e. terrible performance!
g++ (GCC) 4.1.2 20061028 (prerelease) (Debian 4.1.1-19)
Yours is also 4.1.1 version, but it may be broken, so Red Hat hopefully will update GCC some day.

In Debian, if another GCC version is installed, say 4.0, you execute it by using g++-4.0 for example. This may be true for Red Hat if they want to provide backwards compatibility. I recommend you check /usr/bin/g++* and see what g++ binaries you have.

If an older version exists, I recommend you ./configure Vega Strike using the CXX environment variable (not sure if CC is required, but set it to the corresponding gcc binary):

Code: Select all

CC=gcc-4.0 CXX=g++-4.0 ./configure [Any configure options]
Then, try recompiling.


In the latest subversion, I don't see any specific reason for it to cause problems...it used to use some nonstandard hash_map object, but now it just uses a standard class.

Luckily, there happens to be multiple implementations of the collide map.

If you open up src/cmd/collide_map.h uncomment the first #define, and see if that changes the error (this will enable one collide map class).
If that fails to work, modify the first #define and change VS_ENABLE_COLLIDE_KEY to VS_ENABLE_COLLIDE_LIST and see if that changes the error. This will use a simpler but slower list-based implementation.

Good luck
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

i just might hose my fc5 install any go with fc6 it's suposed to be faster etc that and fc5 becomes legacy in a few moths anyway :lol: thx for the ideas will try before i do anyting drastic

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
Post Reply