POSH cannot determine target CPU

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
Post Reply
Ampersand
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 2:55 pm

POSH cannot determine target CPU

Post by Ampersand »

Hi
I've now got VS to configure, but when I try to make, I get this:

make all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike'
Making all in src
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike/src'
Making all in cmd
make[3]: Entering directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike/src/cmd'
Making all in ai
make[4]: Entering directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike/src/cmd/ai'
if g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../.. -DHAVE_SDL=1 -DSDL_WINDOWING=1 -I/usr/local/include -DDATA_DIR=\"/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2\" -I/usr/include/python2.2 -DHAVE_PYTHON=1 -DUSE_BOOST_128=1 -I../../../src/boost -I../../../src -pipe -falign-loops=2 -falign-jumps=2 -falign-functions=2 -I/usr/include/SDL -D_REENTRANT -pthread -pipe -MT comm_ai.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/comm_ai.Tpo" -c -o comm_ai.o comm_ai.cpp; \
then mv -f ".deps/comm_ai.Tpo" ".deps/comm_ai.Po"; else rm -f ".deps/comm_ai.Tpo"; exit 1; fi
In file included from ../../../src/networking/const.h:25,
from ../../../src/vsfilesystem.h:12,
from ../../../src/easydom.h:35,
from ../../../src/cmd/script/mission.h:35,
from ../../../src/cmd/script/flightgroup.h:5,
from ../../../src/cmd/unit_generic.h:47,
from communication.h:3,
from comm_ai.cpp:3:
../../../src/posh.h:542:4: #error POSH cannot determine target CPU
comm_ai.cpp: In function `void GetMadAt(Unit*, Unit*, int)':
comm_ai.cpp:124: warning: converting to `int' from `float'
make[4]: *** [comm_ai.o] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike/src/cmd/ai'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike/src/cmd'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/ampersand/vs/vegastrike_0_4_2/vegastrike'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Anyone got any ideas about what's wrong, or do I need to post more information?
I am using an AMD64 3200+ processor, nvidia 5700 based graphics card, Ubuntu stable.
Thanks
Richard
Hales
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Post by Hales »

My error message is == to his, so I'll post the config.log. (BTW, my system is Nvidia 6800GT and AMD64 3500).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Hales
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Post by Hales »

Renamed to .txt... board wouldn't allow .log.
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

very interesting

if you look at posh.h it really should have gotten to line 510 of the .h file and decided on AMD x86-64

I guess for now as a workaround youc an try

removing line 542 and replacing it with
# define POSH_CPU_STRING "AMD x86-64"

that should at least build for you--wonder why the autodetect isn't workin
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Hales
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Post by Hales »

I'll give it a go.
Hales
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Post by Hales »

Worked nicely. :) Now let's see what comes up next!
Hales
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:49 am
Contact:

Post by Hales »

*edited out* - libvorbis missing. Oops. :)
*edit2* - IT WORKED!
*edit3* - Segfaults on Start New Pilot. Will compile with debug.
*edit4* - Works with just "vegastrike" from command line.
Post Reply