How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby pheonixstorm » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:35 pm

Did you make sure to follow this?
klauss wrote:There's a new file, flykeyboard_server.cpp, that you have to add to the project's vegaserver target, and flykeyboard_generic.cpp, which you have to add to both server and client.

The generic file may not be added into the VS project file, which would generate the error message you recieved.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:19 pm

It is in the project file line 1094 when opened with notepad++ now to see if it is actually in the right location :wink: Well it's there will check the build log to see if was built just checked the the \\Release\vegastrike folder(object files) and only flykeyboard is there so it appears that it was not built :(

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:44 pm

Added flykeyboard_generic.cpp to cmd/ai in the project and hurrah :mrgreen: it builds and i get an .exc but there always is a but :roll:

1>libvorbis_static.lib(info.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(info.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(block.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(block.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(synthesis.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(synthesis.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(registry.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(registry.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(sharedbook.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(sharedbook.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(codebook.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(codebook.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(psy.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(psy.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(smallft.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(smallft.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(envelope.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(envelope.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(mdct.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(mdct.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(bitrate.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(bitrate.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(lpc.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(lpc.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(window.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(window.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(res0.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(res0.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(mapping0.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(mapping0.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(floor1.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(floor1.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(floor0.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(floor0.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbis_static.lib(lsp.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbis_static.lib(lsp.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1>libvorbisfile_static.lib(vorbisfile.obj) : warning LNK4099: PDB 'vc90.pdb' was not found with 'libvorbisfile_static.lib(vorbisfile.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike\vc90.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info
1> vegastrike.vcxproj -> C:\Users\Public\Documents\sandbox\vega-vc9\Release\vegastrike.exe
========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========


so I imagine that I need to build to build it to :wink:
Edit: just looked up the err and it just means that there's no debug info which figures since the debug build failed :x
Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby log0 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:39 am

You can ignore this linker warnings. They just mean that you won't be able to get debug info from this linked libs. You should be able to run vegastrike now.
log0
 

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:49 am

I am going to setup a test export folder have noticed that the exc is kinda small 7,525 KB light compared to the new exc full svn which is 7,854 KB haven't gotten around to testing the binary yet got to eat my oatmeal first :) that and I have feeling that I will need to compile some of the dll's :roll: so they play nice with VC10 new quirks.


Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 7:51 pm

I have tested the binaries setup works just fine while the main app bails out before the load screen ave a look at stdout and stderr which are attached.Now any idea on which dll's I need to build :?:


Enjoy the Choice :)
Attachments
stdout.txt
(175 Bytes) Downloaded 85 times
stderr.txt
(1.2 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby pheonixstorm » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:34 pm

If it was a dll issue I don't think it would have let you get that far. Does windows give an option to send a crash report or even mention the app crash? Either as a popup box or in the event log?

Also, as the game is loading does it stop and crash on the same file during load?

As for VC10 quirks... tried loading an old VC6 workspace from the warzone2100 source package, but when I try to compile the gamelib project VC10 just crashes. Two of the other projects in the solution compile fine :lol:
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:18 pm

Only tried it once will grab the crash report and attach in the morning. I will also see if it stops on the same file and mention it as well.As I just copied and pasted the dll's from the latest revision,but think that it the python dlls that are the issues just a hunch ATM



Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby pheonixstorm » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:32 pm

I guess its possible but usually for a dll conflict it should crash before the exe has a chance to load. At least from general experience, and VS has never done anythin "usual" in windows. Guess thats what you get when its almost 100% developed on linux with little cross development. Get all these oddities that only show up in Mac and Win land and rarely in linux land :lol:
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby log0 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:25 am

loki1950 wrote:Only tried it once will grab the crash report and attach in the morning. I will also see if it stops on the same file and mention it as well.As I just copied and pasted the dll's from the latest revision,but think that it the python dlls that are the issues just a hunch ATM

The crash was to be expected. From what I remember, at some point during start a FILE pointer is passed to python which leads to a crash because python is not compiled against vc100 runtime. That is why you need a vs2010 python version. Btw I think blender guys have got one. But they are running python 3.2.
log0
 

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:21 am

The Win7 version of DrWatson is not very helpful it says no issues :P That's when it is running while I launch VS

It stops trying to load C:\vegastrike\Test\cockpits\disabled-cockpit.cpt\light_ecm,the music works.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby klauss » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:25 am

If you launch with --debug=3 in the command line, it will be more verbose and let you see more precisely when it dies.

But I would subscribe to the python argument, all libraries have to be compiled with the same runtime (MSVC version).

Compiling python wasn't very hard last time I built for windows (MSVC 6 and 8).
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby pheonixstorm » Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:59 pm

Not an issue with 9 either, but 10 changes a lot of things.. first of which is moving the VC Directories from under tools -> options for global include/lib files (such as the windows sdk) to the individual projects themselves. Very annoying when trying to rebuild a VC6 project that has lost its dependency list on the global and local scale.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:29 pm

Well here's a new stderr with --debug=5 sorry not 3 :oops: it worked anyway there was no change in stdout


Enjoy the Choice :)
Attachments
stderr.txt
(36.73 KiB) Downloaded 102 times
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby klauss » Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:37 pm

It seems it dies just after loading one of those two:

./animations/locationselect_up.ani/locationselect_up.bmp: PC bitmap, Windows 3.x format, 32 x 32 x 24
./animations/locationselect.ani/locationselect.bmp: PC bitmap, Windows 3.x format, 32 x 32 x 24
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby loki1950 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:16 pm

So we are still left with Python dll's as prime suspects and maybe some part of the SDL ddl's as well.So time to hunt the source code for them.In that case what tool do I use to apply the patches on the main code.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: How to use/setup MVS2010Express

Postby pheonixstorm » Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:56 am

Most of the libraries are just compile the dll (unless its a static lib) and drop the *.h into includes and and the *.lib into the lib folder. I have the libs labeled if they are static or not (i think)

If you are using the same version as what is already there then the only thing you should have to replace is the .lib and .dll, the h files won't need to be replaced unless you change from sdl 1.2.14 to the latest 1.2.15 or use a python other than 2.7.2 (i think thats what we are using)
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm


Previous

Return to Compiling Problems [paste config.log]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron