compiling vegaogre on winshit

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
Post Reply
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

ya i'll try to set up a windoze version of vegaogre.

plz help me out to find the libraries.

actually i try to find the mlib (math) in the net.

but i can't find it.

anyone plz help?
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:03 am

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by pheonixstorm »

if you have the windows sdk or a full version of visual C++ you only need the third party libs such as python. vc alrady has math etc
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

that helped thx.
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

created vc++ 2008 project with cmake.

fixed compiler switches and precompiled headers.

now i'll have to fix about 300 errors.

i think this will last not very long until it is done.

still trying to find out what a bundle in macosx is and how to use it.

or compile cegui.

i get thousands of warnings. i hope this will be np.
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

today, i was on it again.
i installed cygwin and got a running cmake config for windows.
but when compiling i get thousands of warnings and errors due to win and linux incompatibility.
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:25 am
Location: hiding in a dark corner

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by shenle »

I never even tried to compile in cygwin because IMHO it's a bad idea. You get a huge performance hit so your code eventually runs, but it does so very s-l-o-w-l-y.
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

then. it won't give a windows version until you integrate vegaogre completely in vegastrike and solve all modified vegastrike source file dependencies, thus making the precompiled header obsolete.
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by loki1950 »

Finally back on my main box :D installed Win7 Pro to a 400Gb partition of a new 2Tb drive :mrgreen: the remainder of which i will use as /home for the fedora 15 i installed on the old drive.But since i don't have full connectivity under Linux yet,so i am proceeding with establishing a Development Environment under Win7 a check on the status of VS20008 express revealed that VS2010 C++ Express is now M$ current so installed and updated :) Which SDK's will i need i am completely inexperienced with the M$ tool chain :oops: Still used to ./configure make install :lol:


Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

You need visual c++ (in your case2010).
The base environment should be among my experiences in the visualc++\vc folder.
For libm you need msvcrt I think, I'm not shure.
For the other missing libs(ogre, cegui, freeimage, jpeg, png, ois is in ogre, sdl, openal, ogg, vorbis, python, boost, etc., look what cmake-gui is telling you)
There are easy googleable precompiled or 5min compile versions downloadable.
Just put the whole folders of the compiled libs into the vc folder and set the include dir in cmake-gui and the lib *.lib to the library. Note that you must for boost point to the include folder containing the boost include folder or it will delete the entry for boost lib.

Also in the moment I use sdl1.2(the current version.)
In future I'll move to sdl1.3 which brings a lot of new features with it. And maybe I must change vs for it.
Cause I need it it supports rendering ogre windows inside sdl, so I can integrate the vegaogre part in vegastrike using the old input system.

When you are compiling vegaogre for windows, the main errors should be that the visual c++ compiler supports not all gnu features.

If you have to modify CMakeLists.txt for example to enable the precompiled header in vc++ or include stdafx.h you must do this:
unfortunately it was created in linux/Macosx so you need to insert carriage returns first, or edit it in an editor that can read unix files(not notepad).
(Cause other users want to suffer from creating vc++ projectfiles automatically.)
Then include the global_precompiled_headers.h from vegaogre in stdafx.h and include stdafx.h in every header. You must do this, there is no other way to define a precompiled header in windows.
Then generate the precompiled header using /Yc in vc++ after that use /Yu to use it.

There should be some bugs inside it when using windows cause I never compiled for it.

Also, I created a standalone vegaogre compile, but if you download it, then svn copy to create your own branch and want to upload it all to the branch you'll get problems cause svn will make problems. It is too much data, you must upload it in parts.

I hope this seriously helps you to start over. If we have two branches I'll start generating a trunk, integrating both changes into a release version.
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by loki1950 »

Well it will be a while yet. i guess then as i still need to learn my way around VS`s gui and debug interface as i mentioned i am not overly familiar with the windows build environment so any comments from the peanut gallery are welcome :wink:


Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

Got a i5 quad-core "sandy-bridge" 2400 with msi motherboard now.
Tried to install hackintosh but failed cause of bios probs although it is listed in the compatibility list.
Kubuntu failed to work, too, no network.
Maybe I'll use another distro at first and update the bios....
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by klauss »

OT: i5 s aren't quad core, they're dual core with HT.
Still cool.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
Gungnir
Mercenary
Mercenary
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 5:57 am

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by Gungnir »

klauss wrote:OT: i5 s aren't quad core, they're dual core with HT.
Still cool.
i7's are the only ones with HT; the i5's are true quad cores.

I have to wonder why you went for the 2400 over the 2500K, though; price?
~Gungnir
segfault wrote:if I was actually in space I'd totally be throwing on autopilot and relaxing in the back during the trip, sipping space wine and listening (rlaan?) jazz.
Rig: i5 2500k @ 5ghz, 2x OCZ Agility 3 120gb SSD boot drives, AMD Radeon HD 7950 @ 1100/1575 (Catalyst 12.1 Linux and 12.3 Windows), dual-boot Fedora 16 KDE and Windows 7 Pro
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by klauss »

Gungnir wrote:
klauss wrote:OT: i5 s aren't quad core, they're dual core with HT.
Still cool.
i7's are the only ones with HT; the i5's are true quad cores.
Ok, it seems to be a mix
Mine is one of the dual core ones.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

Well the 2400 has already 3,1ghz and the 2500 has 3,3. According to my infos is there a gap between the slow RAM and the CPU, which is even bigger if you take a faster CPU.
But this wasn't really theTrue reason why I took a cheaper CPU.

You don't see it, but No one has donated yet for the project, and I am REALLY count every buck. I Really had nealy nothing to eat cause I gave everything for computers.

I wanted to take a job, but no one wanted to take me cause I can only work for 4hrs/day
Cause of my studies. Very nice. I have so much learned but they want only take the stupid ones who work 8 hrs.

That's why I want to go commercially with vegaogre - you can still download it and compile yourself, but a precompiled version will exist only for bucks.
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
strook
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:10 pm

Re: compiling vegaogre on winshit

Post by strook »

Now I'm the proud user of a quad core i5 hackintosh :D
Let's see how fast it compiles vs...

Uuuh, for making money I have to clean dishes this evening :cry:
plz visit my vegastrike project branch here

plz support VegaOgre by donating to it!

My systems: Mac mini 1, 4gig RAM;
i5 Quad Core 2400, 300mbit WLAN, 1,3Tbyte HD, 60 GB SSD,
nvidia geforce 8400gs 512MB, 6gig RAM with Ubuntu 11.4,
win7 and hackintosh installed
Post Reply