configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).

configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby eracc » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:26 pm

Hi all. Just downloaded SVN of VS and trying to build. I have '/usr/include/GL/glut.h' but ./configure says "configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h" so where is it trying to find this?

My config.log is attached to this message instead of pasting the entire freakishly long thing here.
Attachments
config.log
This is my config.log, be gentle.
(113.73 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
http://www.eracc.com/ - Linux, Unix, eComStation (Get rid of proprietary Microsoft and Apple!)
Custom Built, Preloaded PCs, Workstations and Servers - Business, Home and Gamer systems
My custom built Linux Gamer/Personal/Business box: Mageia Linux on - ASUS M4A78, 4GB RAM (Linux "sees" 3.2 GB with a 32-bit kernel), AMD Phenom Quad-core @ 2.6GHz, Radeon X1650 Pro PCIe, "sda" 250GB WD2500AAKS-0, "sdb" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdc" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdd" 500GB ST3500418AS, "xfs" file system on all but the / partition which is using "ext4".
User avatar
eracc
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 167
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: TN, USA

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby chuck_starchaser » Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:10 pm

I have glut.h in,
Code: Select all
/usr/include/GL/glut.h

though, I'm not sure who or what puts it there; I'm a linux newbie; I would assume at some point I must have installed some opengl lib or something that did it.
By the way, the right configure line is,
Code: Select all
$ ./configure --disable-debug --enable-release
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby eracc » Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:27 pm

chuck_starchaser wrote:I have glut.h in,
Code: Select all
/usr/include/GL/glut.h

though, I'm not sure who or what puts it there; I'm a linux newbie; I would assume at some point I must have installed some opengl lib or something that did it.

In my case the /usr/include/GL/glut.h was installed with the libmesaglut3-devel package. I do have the file and it is in the correct location. No clue why ./configure does not see it.

chuck_starchaser wrote:By the way, the right configure line is,
Code: Select all
$ ./configure --disable-debug --enable-release

Ah, well, perhaps this URL needs to be fixed then: http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/wiki/ ... e_from_SVN That is where I got the ./configure string I used.
http://www.eracc.com/ - Linux, Unix, eComStation (Get rid of proprietary Microsoft and Apple!)
Custom Built, Preloaded PCs, Workstations and Servers - Business, Home and Gamer systems
My custom built Linux Gamer/Personal/Business box: Mageia Linux on - ASUS M4A78, 4GB RAM (Linux "sees" 3.2 GB with a 32-bit kernel), AMD Phenom Quad-core @ 2.6GHz, Radeon X1650 Pro PCIe, "sda" 250GB WD2500AAKS-0, "sdb" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdc" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdd" 500GB ST3500418AS, "xfs" file system on all but the / partition which is using "ext4".
User avatar
eracc
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 167
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: TN, USA

Re: configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby chuck_starchaser » Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:56 pm

eracc wrote:
chuck_starchaser wrote:By the way, the right configure line is,
Code: Select all
$ ./configure --disable-debug --enable-release

Ah, well, perhaps this URL needs to be fixed then: http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/wiki/ ... e_from_SVN That is where I got the ./configure string I used.
Actually, would you fix it? I've lost editing access to the wiki since we moved to phpBB3, due to the underscore in my name (the wiki sees the underscore and thinks that it originated as a space, or something along the lines). You should be able to log in with the same oozer name and pax sword as you use in the forum.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby klauss » Sat Apr 24, 2010 1:28 pm

Actually, we should fix configure to have a proper release build by default (instead of a debug build).

Linux savvies know the "./configure && make && sudo make install" line, and type it even without thinking.

(ie: not so savvy of them ;) )

Anyway, ./configure should be enough and it's not.

Look at this in your config.log:

Code: Select all
configure:9683: checking GL/glut.h usability
configure:9683: g++ -c       conftest.cpp >&5
In file included from conftest.cpp:149:
/usr/include/GL/glut.h:18:20: error: GL/glu.h: No such file or directory


Seems your glut.h is somehow broken.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby eracc » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:17 pm

Interesting catch there klauss. It appears that GL/glu.h is in a different development package from libmesaglut3-devel:
Code: Select all
[root@era4 ~]# urpmf GL/glu.h
mingw32-w32api:/usr/i586-pc-mingw32/sys-root/mingw/include/GL/glu.h
root:/usr/share/root/cint/cint/include/GL/glu.h
root:/usr/share/root/cint/cint7/include/GL/glu.h
libmesaglu1-devel:/usr/include/GL/glu.h

Meaning the libmesaglu1-devel package of course. However, that package was installed but the file did not exist on my drive. I removed and reinstalled the package and now the file shows up. Some gremlins got it before I think.
http://www.eracc.com/ - Linux, Unix, eComStation (Get rid of proprietary Microsoft and Apple!)
Custom Built, Preloaded PCs, Workstations and Servers - Business, Home and Gamer systems
My custom built Linux Gamer/Personal/Business box: Mageia Linux on - ASUS M4A78, 4GB RAM (Linux "sees" 3.2 GB with a 32-bit kernel), AMD Phenom Quad-core @ 2.6GHz, Radeon X1650 Pro PCIe, "sda" 250GB WD2500AAKS-0, "sdb" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdc" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdd" 500GB ST3500418AS, "xfs" file system on all but the / partition which is using "ext4".
User avatar
eracc
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 167
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: TN, USA

Re: configure: error: Cannot find GL/glut.h

Postby eracc » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:54 pm

Okay, that solved the problem. It is now make(ing). We'll see if I can get a build now. Thanks folks. :)
http://www.eracc.com/ - Linux, Unix, eComStation (Get rid of proprietary Microsoft and Apple!)
Custom Built, Preloaded PCs, Workstations and Servers - Business, Home and Gamer systems
My custom built Linux Gamer/Personal/Business box: Mageia Linux on - ASUS M4A78, 4GB RAM (Linux "sees" 3.2 GB with a 32-bit kernel), AMD Phenom Quad-core @ 2.6GHz, Radeon X1650 Pro PCIe, "sda" 250GB WD2500AAKS-0, "sdb" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdc" 150GB WD1500ADFD-0 (Raptor), "sdd" 500GB ST3500418AS, "xfs" file system on all but the / partition which is using "ext4".
User avatar
eracc
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 167
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:24 pm
Location: TN, USA



Return to Compiling Problems [paste config.log]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest