vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).

vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby www2 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:45 am

Current svn revision of vegastrike heft problems to Compiling and run under ubuntu 9.10(Karmic).

The problems are:

1. can not compile with the internal boost version
2. problems wit gcc.
3. python problems by running of vegastrike client/server (can ont load the main screen in the client)

All this problems are know by the project maintamers and we work on a fix for this problem.

Vega strike development team.
All Your Base Are Belong To Us
User avatar
www2
Venturer
Venturer
 
Posts: 536
Topics: 52
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 3:51 am
Location: milkyway->the sol system->earth->Europe->The Nederland->Soud Holland->Leiden

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby mojek35 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:31 am

Hello
I also had problem with compiling on Ubuntu 9.10
Using
Code: Select all
./make all
instead of
Code: Select all
./make all-am
solved the my compilation problem.

I encountered one problem when run the Vegastrike. The sound is often interrupted
and it finally exits or freezes with following message on the console.
Code: Select all
problem in t_src_classAL lib: ALc.c:1368: exit(): closing 1 Device
AL lib: ALc.c:1345: alcCloseDevice(): destroying 1 Context
AL lib: alSource.c:2362: alcDestroyContext(): deleting 24 Source(s)

(When it It freezes, it often ends with screen showing in the bottom loading Logos/dgnPri.texture)

regards,
-mojmir
mojek35
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:45 pm

Re: vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby AVBJim » Tue Dec 22, 2009 3:24 pm

I had no problems compiling it or even running it. I followed the instructions from the Ubuntu page on the wiki, worked fine. I did have some issues with PulseAudio, but I removed it and that seemed to help. It was causing frequent hangs/freezes, so I run VS in a window instead of full screen. Worked good on GNOME after I installed the compiz-switch. I switched my desktop over to Xfce4 and use the windows manager with it. Things run a lot smoother now. I do have the occasional hang or lose sound sometimes, but that is minor.
AVBJim
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 42
Topics: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby www2 » Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:30 pm

@AVBJim
Welcome on the forum and the bug where i talk about is fix by ace123
All Your Base Are Belong To Us
User avatar
www2
Venturer
Venturer
 
Posts: 536
Topics: 52
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 3:51 am
Location: milkyway->the sol system->earth->Europe->The Nederland->Soud Holland->Leiden

Re: vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby Voronwe » Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:59 am

About the compiling thing: I added from synaptic

libsdl1.2-dev
libboost-python1.40.0
libboost-python1.40-dev

and it compiled well. Apparently.

Well, everytime I try to play I can see the main screen, but if I click on "Main Campaign" the game is slow as hell in the hangar screen and if I try to launch the vessel I can't see anything of the game (only a white background with some stats).

Here is my hardware

http://cgi.ebay.it/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... 210wt_1163

I updated my Intel GMA Drivers from here

https://launchpad.net/~xorg-edgers/+arc ... ter=karmic

but it's all been a waste of time.

Oh yeah, I'm under Ubuntu KK amd64.
User avatar
Voronwe
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 16
Topics: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:37 am

Re: vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby klauss » Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:59 am

Did you get the latest svn update?

r12742 or greater should be your revision number.

I believe that revision has the white bug fixed.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: vega strike under ubuntu 9.10

Postby shenle » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:10 am

See my other thread viewtopic.php?f=2&t=15279 and chuck's reply about the compiler options you need to compile with cube_map. Otherwise backgrounds will be missing.
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
 
Posts: 381
Topics: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: hiding in a dark corner



Return to Compiling Problems [paste config.log]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron