Build a development windows binary for from r12552

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
JsnMtth
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter

Build a development windows binary for from r12552

Post by JsnMtth »

I'm working on building a working Windows binary out of the svn (subversion) version of vegastrike at revision 12552.

I'm a newcomer to Vegastrike, I've compiled LOTS of other peoples applications in the Linux world including a custom LFS (GNU+Linux from Scratch) server stack. I've also compiled the before mentioned version of vegastrike for GNU+Linux. I have 15 years of programming experience using both procedural and OOP (Object Oriented Programming). I'm familiar with version control and Industry best practices. I'm not an expert in C or C++. I'm yet unfamiliar with out to develop a large application that compiles using a build system (such as VCC, Cmake, gnu tools).

So far I've attempted to build VS on windows using Cmake, Code::Blocks, and VCC9. I was only able to complete the build process with VCC9. The build segfaulted and I'm also not familiar with debugging compiled applications short of adding my own text output and interpreting compiler errors. Its been reported to compile on VCC8 but I can't seem to find it.

My motivations are to learn about the before mentioned shortcomings in my education and to contribute something useful to the open source community.

My goal is to build a working windows binary using a minimum of proprietary software, and without violating any licenses.

I'll be exploring the following avenues to achieve my goal:

1) Cross-Compile (Compile on GNU+Linux for Windows)
2) Build with Windows versions of the GNU build system
3) Build with Cmake

Any and all input (except flaming) would be greatly appreciated.
JsnMtth
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter

Re: Build a development windows binary for from r12552

Post by JsnMtth »