Another try under cygwin

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
Post Reply
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Another try under cygwin

Post by pontiac »

So i finally retried to make vegastrike under cygwin (i don't know why i'm still trying it and even why i do it at all..)
The scrambled Makfile.am in src isn't helping too :?
Here are the errors i got:

http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... config.log
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stderr.txt
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stdout.txt

and it did complain about a missing config.h.in file ... where should be such a file?

Can somebody help me?

Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

autoheader
automake -a
autoconf
./configure
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Surfdargent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:28 am
Location: Reunion Island
Contact:

Post by Surfdargent »

Ok, I tried to compile VS under Cygwin today and was pretty much succesful except that I forgot to disable sound... and I don't have OpenAL.
So I couldn't get VS to link but every file was compiled.

I fixed 3 or 4 compilation errors and now it should be ok again in CVS.

The autoheader, automake... stuff is important to do. I had no error at all in the makefiles.

Did you ever tried to compile with sound/OpenAL support ?
I think I'll try to compile libcrypto++ under cygwin soon to make sure it'll work. that lib will enable features in networking that someday might become important.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Thanks for the answers.
I'm currently updating cvs-source and will report my results here.
hellcatv wrote:autoheader
didn't know that one .. will try soon after updating cvs-source.
So if it is supposed to be run under cygwin i will update the wiki to so it will look like this:

Code: Select all

cd ./vegastrike
 make clean    # optional, ... ???
 aclocal
 autoheader
 autoconf
 automake --add-missing
 ./configure ...........
automake -a
autoconf
Just curious: Is there a difference when running the commands in this order? :

Code: Select all

autoconf
automake -a
Surfdargent wrote:Did you ever tried to compile with sound/OpenAL support ?
i tried it once in the beginning and it was the only thing preventing me to compile the complete thing.
And since i don't really need sound to play i just turned it off ;-)

Pontiac

PS: just to make this complete...my procedure in my first post was like this:

Code: Select all

aclocal
autoconf
automake -a
$ ./configure --enable-debug --enable-nosdl --enable-nogtk --with-gl-lib-name=opengl32 --with-glu-lib-name=glu32 --with-png-inc=/usr/include/libpng12 --disable-sound --enable-boost-128 --disable-sdl
make -k 2>make_stderr.txt >make_stdout.txt
not autoheader there, though ;-)
Last edited by pontiac on Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

i just found out i did accidently upgrade to python version 2.3.x.
But now i cant downgrade again to 2.2.
The package is on the server, but the installer don't list it.
Is there a way to install it manually or to make the installer see/use it?

Pontiac
PS: WHOOT ..many many thanks for makefile.am fixes
Surfdargent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:28 am
Location: Reunion Island
Contact:

Post by Surfdargent »

Sorry, I'm what we could consider as a novice with cygwin ;)
I can't help on that. I wish I could.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Just figured it out ;-)
I solved the python issue by making a local install directory put the python2.2.x files in it and edited the setup.ini file to matxh the files.
If somebody needs it too just mail me.

So after installing phyton 2.2.x I went through the procedure:

Code: Select all

aclocal
autoheader
automake -a
autoconf
./configure --enable-debug --enable-nosdl --enable-nogtk --with-gl-lib-name=opengl32 --with-glu-lib-name=glu32 --with-png-inc=/usr/include/libpng12 --disable-sound --enable-boost-128 --disable-sdl
 make -k 2>make_stderr.txt >make_stdout.txt
Unfortunately i still get errors:

Code: Select all

configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
.infig.status: error: cannot find input file: Makefile
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... config.log
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stderr.txt
http://members.chello.at/stefbuer/vegas ... stdout.txt



Pontiac

PS: is it possible to include a configure parameter or something for the

Code: Select all

 -lXi -lXmu
switches in configure.in?

I still have to remove them everytime i update (and overwrite) the cvs-source.
Though if thios isn't possible i have to live with it i think :?
Surfdargent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 4:28 am
Location: Reunion Island
Contact:

Post by Surfdargent »

I'll take a look at this -lXi -lXmu thing.
Since I have X-Window installed on my cygwin box I never had that problem.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

Surfdargent wrote:I'll take a look at this -lXi -lXmu thing.
Since I have X-Window installed on my cygwin box I never had that problem.
Actually i have XFree8 installed (startx runs quite fine). But configure don't fine it.

What files is configure looking for. The only files i found related to this is libXi.dll, cygXmuu-1.dll and libXmuu.dll.
Maybe there should be more.
I even reinstalled x a few times, didn't make a difference.


Pontiac
Post Reply