MESHER not quite compiling

Trying to build your own version of Vega Strike and having problems? Unix users, paste your config.log here (stderr output alone is not helpful).
Post Reply
rigelan
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:58 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

MESHER not quite compiling

Post by rigelan »

I was going to do some converting of the OBJ files to the BFXM files for the master set. But then I found out mesher didn't even work. I recompiled a couple times to see if that were an issue, hasn't helped yet.

Anybody have a working mesher for linux? Mine seems to give me this error. I don't even have to enter an obj or bfxm filename. GCC version 4.1.2 if that makes a difference. SVN 12022

Code: Select all

colemana@popeye:~/dev/vegastrike$ mesher
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::out_of_range'
  what():  basic_string::erase
Aborted
colemana@popeye:~/dev/vegastrike$ 
AMD 4800 - NVIDIA 7600 - Slackware Linux 12.2
bgaskey
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Rimward of Eden

Post by bgaskey »

just made mine for same reason you are :wink: Mine works fine...i guess one of the devs will be by. if you want, I can attach my binary and you can try it if you are using a fairly standard x86 linux install 8)
safemode
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by safemode »

this is either a data error or we are trying to erase more string than we have for some reason.
Ed Sweetman endorses this message.
rigelan
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:58 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post by rigelan »

yeah, fairly standard linux x86 compliant. Can always try and see your version. :-)
AMD 4800 - NVIDIA 7600 - Slackware Linux 12.2
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Post by ace123 »

Shouldn't you be doing "./mesher" and not "mesher", since the latter will use the global command which might be an older version.

Also, if you have vegastrike built with --enable-debug, you can do a "gdb ./mesher", "run" and "backtrace full" when you get the std::out_of_range so that it can be fixed.

As to supplying an elf binary I'm on 64-bit linux so I don't think it will work on your machine.
bgaskey
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Rimward of Eden

Post by bgaskey »

try the attached one...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
rigelan
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:58 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post by rigelan »

I don't have a global mesher

So the one in the vegastrike directory is the only one used.

I'll see if it works.
AMD 4800 - NVIDIA 7600 - Slackware Linux 12.2
rigelan
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:58 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post by rigelan »

Maybe I don't understand linux . . .

mesher in vegastrike directory gives me error
./mesher in vegastrike directory runs command perfectly
mesher in any other directory, and the executable is not run at all

Whatever, ./mesher got it to work. Guess I'll work with it
AMD 4800 - NVIDIA 7600 - Slackware Linux 12.2
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Post by ace123 »

Typing "mesher" is using an old version in a system binaries directory.

you can also specify the full path (/home/user/vegastrike/mesher obc arg1 arg2)

Or a better solution would be to copy it as root to /usr/local/bin or /usr/bin (and/or delete the old version of mesher there) and then you can run it from anywhere
rigelan
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:58 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post by rigelan »

but I don't have a "mesher" anywhere else on the system! not in /bin nor /usr/bin nor /usr/local/bin. Its not in my path! And slocate cannot find any file by that name anywhere except in the vegastrike path.
AMD 4800 - NVIDIA 7600 - Slackware Linux 12.2
cap601
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:28 pm

Post by cap601 »

I believe running "make install" (as root) after compilation copies all the executables to a system directory for you. Or you could just manually copy the file from the vegastrike path to the preferred location.
bgaskey
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Rimward of Eden

Post by bgaskey »

the './' that allows it to work is simply specifying that the command is located in the current working directory.
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

Much easier to add something like this into your .bashrc file

Code: Select all

alias mesher='/home/denis/workspace/BuildBox/vegastrike/vegastrike-12055/binaries/mesher'
i just change it to reflect the version i want to use ATM

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
rigelan
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:58 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post by rigelan »

Whatever, the conversation doesn't need to be continued, it all works anyway. I'll figure out what it is sometime or another. It doesn't make sense to me yet.
AMD 4800 - NVIDIA 7600 - Slackware Linux 12.2
Post Reply