My first try at modelling, have mercy with criticism

Thinking about improving the Artwork in Vega Strike, or making your own Mod? Submit your question and ideas in this forum.

Moderator: pyramid

æþeling
Trader
Trader

My first try at modelling, have mercy with criticism

Post by æþeling »

I started learning blender a few days ago, did some tutorials, and came up with this:

It's a Normandy class dropship, intended for orbital drops of soldiers and light equipment into combat zones. Measuring 30 metres in distance, it can carry about 100 soldiers in full combat equipment and up to 10 light combat vehicles. Since it's intended only for short transports, it has no SPEC drive, and no shields. Instead, it uses a powerfull booster to reach orbit and escape from possible threats in space. While it's not very good at space-maneuvering, it has wings and side-boosters which allow it to maneuver avay from any threats on land. Due to it's limited usefullness, it has to be deployed in massive numbers to have an effect on the battle on the surface. Because of that drawback, it's normally only used for first-strike invasions and emergency reinforcement&supply drops where gathering larger dropships in sufficient time is impossible. After dropping it's "cargo", it can support the land army by providing navigation intel and, if necesarry, assume the role of a heavy atmospheric fighter. Since it's main booster is too weak to reach the escape velocity of most of the planets, and spends most of it's fuel (which it can't hold much) to get to the surface, it has to be returned to orbit by a larger craft.
ASUS P4C800 E-Deluxe
Pentium 4 Xeon 3,2GHz @ 3,8 GHz (cooled by Zalman CNPS 7700Cu)
2x 512mb DDR400 Corsair ram
Leadtek Geforce A6600GT TDH AGP, GPU 500Mhz @ 630 Mhz, 128mb GDDR ram 900 Mhz @ 1200Mhz, cooled by Revoltec VGA Freezer
Gentoo 200601
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite

Post by chuck_starchaser »