Kirk is back!

Thinking about improving the Artwork in Vega Strike, or making your own Mod? Submit your question and ideas in this forum.

Moderator: pyramid

Jack Cloudy
Explorer
Explorer

Kirk is back!

Post by Jack Cloudy »

Nah, just kidding. The ship you see in the pics is the USS Dawn. I’m working on an attempt to recreate the Constitution. Here’s what I have right now. The details are still a pain, but I’m working on it. The bad part is I’m still an amateur, so it will take ages to get things right. Does anyone have any suggestions about what I should change? Just thought I would show it off anyway. If it wasn’t for Vegastrike, I would never have started modelling, and I really like what you've made, makes me jealous :D .
The pictures speak for themselves. I’ve got a top view, front view and side view.
,,That was the worst and most boring movie I’ve ever seen. Lousy special effects.
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite

Post by chuck_starchaser »

Looking good. I would double or quadruple the steps in generating the main round part; looks too polygonal at 16. The other sections, being cylindrical, will be fixed by the smooth shading; but the main body... I'd give it 64 steps; and maybe reduce the number of radial points if necessary to keep poly count under control.
BradMick
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter

Post by BradMick »

whoa.....64? 128 tris + the caps...another 128. 24 would be the way to go.
LightWave nerd extrodanaire...

"Who need drugs when you got Brad? He's a trip enough already!' - stoner friend of mine...
Jack Cloudy
Explorer
Explorer

Post by Jack Cloudy »

Thanks. Regarding the steps, you do that with the smoothing tool, right?
I'll also need to do something about the undercut near the hangar, it's too straight and needs to be a bit more rounded. A bigger bridge module, and it'll look a whole lot better. I'll see what I can do.
,,That was the worst and most boring movie I’ve ever seen. Lousy special effects.
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite