New to VS and I want to start skinning...

Thinking about improving the Artwork in Vega Strike, or making your own Mod? Submit your question and ideas in this forum.

Moderator: pyramid

Flowers Of Naivety
Merchant
Merchant

New to VS and I want to start skinning...

Post by Flowers Of Naivety »

Hi all... I just started playing VS about 4 days ago... Since then I have only gotten liek 15 hours of sleep total... I used to play the Wing Commander games when I was little, and got into Escape Velocity on my old mac, butI'm addicted to this game now.
I also was just kicked out of the HIT (Half-Life Improvement Team) forums for "signature disobediance" and now I don't really have anything to skin... So I wanted to try my hands at this...
I found all the textures and what not but is there a way to see the UV maps?
I want to first do the Llama since thats what I am still using (heavily upgraded.)

Any other ships that you guys would like to see a new skin on?

And what ship would you recomend for someone that loves the Llama?
"The flowers of naivety, buried in a layer of frost"
Concept Artist at: www.reteb.hlgaming.com
Halleck
Elite
Elite

Post by Halleck »

Awesome! Texture artists are hard to come by.

Here's a little info- game meshes are stored in a format called bfxm. I think it stands for 'binary format xmesh' or somesuch. It's a compiled version of the xmesh format, which is another format the devs created for this game, that represents meshes in XML.

To see the UV mapping of the ship in question, you'll first need to convert its bfxm file into something your modeller can read. There is a handy command-line utility in /bin/ called mesher.exe that can convert between obj, bfxm, and xmesh.

If you use blender or wings 3d, you can get xmesh import plugins. Otherwise, obj will work fine. Either way, you'll need to invoke mesher.

First, copy the bfxm you want to convert into /bin/ so mesher can read it.