Hello: new to Vega Strike and computer modelling

Thinking about improving the Artwork in Vega Strike, or making your own Mod? Submit your question and ideas in this forum.

Moderator: pyramid

Bulletproof Slinky
Star Pilot
Star Pilot

Hello: new to Vega Strike and computer modelling

Post by Bulletproof Slinky »

Hi,

I am new to Vega Strike, and computer modelling. I learnt about this game from a MMO game directory and thus came about this site and forums. I must say, I am quite dumbstruck by the quality of work you guys have done! It is absolutely excellent! :D

I would thus like to learn computer modelling, and make some artwork of my own for the game. Do you have any suggestions for me?

I did learn that Rhinoceros 3D is a good modelling program, and I am considering getting it. What program do you guys generally use? What other programs/materials are necessary or useful?

Thanks for your time and help,
Bulletproof Slinky
MamiyaOtaru
Privateer

Post by MamiyaOtaru »

You'll hear different suggestions from different people. I do all my work in Wings3d.

It has an exporter for Vegastrike's format, is free, and works on multiple platforms. I find it works quite well for my needs.

**edit**
curses, why can't my spellchecker tell that 'exported' is a type on that context? ;)
Last edited by MamiyaOtaru on Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
CubOfJudahsLion
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative

Post by CubOfJudahsLion »

Well, the substance of the issue you'll find in the wiki (see links above), but there'll be no harm in summarizing the basics here:

- For modeling, the most direct route is Wings3D. It's pretty intuitive, and the basics shouldn't take more than a couple of days to learn. It can be exported to VS format using a plugin meant for wings3d (for more info look here.)