Models, format, what do i know

Thinking about improving the Artwork in Vega Strike, or making your own Mod? Submit your question and ideas in this forum.

Moderator: pyramid

Asking Guest

Models, format, what do i know

Post by Asking Guest »

Hi guys,
i've never done a 3d Artwork before so i'm a bloody newbie; here are my first questions:

1. What file format is needed to implement the model to the game?

2. Which programs are the best to create a 3d model (easy to undestand, good gui) and can save it to the (1) file format?

3. Where can i find something about the size of a model (i think you have somewhere technical specs on the bases, ships, fighters)

4. What is a damage map (a second texture for a damaged ship that i have to create)?

5. Who is responsible for the design concept of the different races and must agree with my work? (email address)

6. Does the station designer also creates the inside graphics of the station?

7. What is your experience on how long it takes to create a model with textures?

That's all for now.
etheral walker
Elite
Elite

Post by etheral walker »

1. xmesh/bfxm, you can produce it with wings3d
2. wings3d is really easy to handle, but texturing is not really intuitive
3. for the size it depends of the class of the ship, in fact, and of the race too
4. the damage map slowly fade in your regular color map when you get hit
5. for artwork design, the responsible is JackS, you can pm him, but I should agrue that it depends, he never rejected a nice mesh, even if it's truly a "conceptual art", when an artist want to make something a bit special
6. it depends, the challenge was only asking for a mesh, no interior renders, but I know Stranj and Targon did some nice interiors renders