Side tracked

A home for tales of personal killcounts and engagements between vast armadas, as well as the odd recounting of that time you saw an alien capship taking out a mining base while trying to parallel park.

Side tracked

Postby darkninjaoffear » Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:00 am

Tonight I got bored of the system you start in and of wormholes, so i decided to send my ship out of the system, i got 565,112,120,171,969,904,640 light seconds away from the fighter barracks on the edge of the system. 565112120171969904640 light seconds is 17 trillion light millennia away, and the background hadn't changed a bit. Then my computer froze, fix the bug eh? :evil: :evil: :evil:
darkninjaoffear
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
 
Posts: 7
Topics: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:14 pm

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby ace123 » Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:22 am

It has to do with the accuracy of the floating point numbers used for coordinates. Even double-precision (64-bit) floating points have their limitations :-(

Unfortuantely it is not easy to detect what happens when you go off so far into space.
You should still be able to hit "Escape" followed by "q" when it is frozen.
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
 
Posts: 2560
Topics: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA

I know

Postby darkninjaoffear » Sat Apr 26, 2008 11:12 am

I know but i find it funny that you can get that far away.
darkninjaoffear
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
 
Posts: 7
Topics: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:14 pm

Postby 2asueekim » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:51 am

He is trying to use the inter-system travel option when you can spec from one sys to another. This was billed as a new feature but seems to be turned off. How do you turn it back on? I'd like to do it too.
2asueekim
Hunter
Hunter
 
Posts: 95
Topics: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:43 pm

Postby cap601 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:46 am

2asueekim wrote:He is trying to use the inter-system travel option when you can spec from one sys to another. This was billed as a new feature but seems to be turned off. How do you turn it back on? I'd like to do it too.


Check your thread on the topic.
cap601
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 56
Topics: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:28 am



Return to A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Commerce Center

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron