Release Schedule?

Development directions, tasks, and features being actively implemented or pursued by the development team.
One Salient Oversight
Explorer
Explorer

Release Schedule?

Post by One Salient Oversight »

OK, IANAP (I am not a programmer) and I kneel down in front of the Zod you all are in creating this great game.

I'm very much enjoying 0.5.0. I used to play Elite on my brother's Commodore 64 back in the 1980s so this game is a great treat and you're doing a good job.

It would be nice, though, if VS could have a 6 monthly release schedule like Ubuntu does. I know that time is short and programmers are few and debates are many and bugs are everywhere, but a six monthly schedule, even if it's moving from 0.5.0 to 0.5.1 and then to 0.5.2 six months later is better than nothing. Incremental improvements are better than nothing.

Also, it would also be great if VS makes it into the standard Ubuntu/Kubuntu repositories. I was able to download 0.4.3 from the Kubuntu repository and was having problems and then found 0.5.0 was available but I had to download it manually rather than using Adept (apt-get). If 0.5.0 had been in the repository, I could've easily gotten an upgrade. Moreover, each time the software changes between 6 month releases (bugfixes etc) people like me should be able to get them automatically whenever we do our weekly Adept downloads for bugfixes.

Again, IANAP and I have no idea what important things need to be done. Yet because of the growth of Ubuntu I would see it as a necessity to support it via Adept/Synaptic and for the Ubuntu 6 month release schedules. Even if this means only incremental changes it is worth doing and worthwhile diverting coding/labor resources to achieve this.
pyramid
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary

Re: Release Schedule?

Post by pyramid »

A 6 months schedule would be ideal. You can usually accompany pending developments for the next release either in the 0.6 plans thread, or on the 0.6.0 roadmap wiki page.