Unable to start the game

Forum For Privateer Remake

Unable to start the game

Postby Kret » Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:46 am

Hello,

I wanted to try a PR 1.2 that is available on the webpage and under links here, but unfortunately none of these packages allows me to start the game. I install it, setup it and when I run a privateer 1.2 application and here's what happens:

there is a standard Privateer starting artwork (Centurion hunting Gladius) and changing names of files in lower left corner suggesting these files are being loaded. It comes to thrust0018.png file (ALWAYS this one) and it stops. The computer hangs for good, only power button can help in my case.

I have a relatively old laptop, Intel Celeron 2 GHz, 1 GB RAM (divided, so I choose 640 MB RAM in setup) and SiS 650 display adapter.

Had anyone such problems before? I would really like to try an alternative to GG...

Thanks in advance for any hints.

Kret
Kret
Insys Pilot
Insys Pilot
 
Posts: 2
Topics: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:34 am

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby loki1950 » Sat Sep 22, 2007 7:11 am

Welcome Kret what OS are you running PR under.and does your video card support OpenGL fully if you are using XP there should be two files in the bin folder that will give us an idea of what happened they are called stderr.txt and stdout.txt just attach them to your post.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5708
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Postby ace123 » Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:39 pm

Have you tried leaving it loading for a while, then going off somewhere else, and coming back a while later?

It is probably generating BSP's and doing other stuff that is taking a while.

The file it says is loading is only the last file... so it won't tell you when it's loading something really big until it's done loading it.
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
 
Posts: 2560
Topics: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA

Postby Dilloh » Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:17 pm

I've also noticed that when you're having the video card problem (obsolete drivers), the initial loading sequence is awfully slow - but eventually finishes.
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany

Postby Kret » Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:15 pm

Well, this might be something with my graphic card - it's still an old laptop after all. I have managed to start a 1.1 version, but it runs strange (small window on white background in bases and normal view in space; also, mouse indicator is not visible). I will probably wait until I buy some normal computer first.

Thanks for help

Kret
Kret
Insys Pilot
Insys Pilot
 
Posts: 2
Topics: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:34 am

Postby Dilloh » Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:27 am

Not necessarily... try the suggestions by ace and loki, as well you could try to get yourself the newest drivers for your video card
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany



Return to Privateer Remake

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron