any way to remove a ship from game?

Forum For Privateer Remake

any way to remove a ship from game?

Postby Hathur » Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:45 pm

I've edited the units.csv file and deleted the directories for the ships as well (Orion Mk2, Mk2h, Orion b, etc)... the reason I did this was these ships were bugged, they often showed up as invisible black blobs in space that couldn't be harmed, so I wanted to erase them so I wouldn't see them in space anymore...

However, they still appear in space from time to time as the usual invisible object (but targetable and visible on radar). Deleting them from the units.csv file didn't help.

Can anyone tell me how to remove a ship so it no longer appears as a NPC controlled vessel in space? I'm tired of all the damned bugged ships that the parallel universe mod has introduced (virtually all of the Orion variants are bugged as well as a few of the Galaxy variants and I just don't want to see them in the game anymore.. I only want the original Orions and Galaxy ships around).
Hathur
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 12
Topics: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:27 am

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby Halleck » Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:26 pm

You probably have to delete the python references to them that actually spawn the ships.

Units in units.csv with no python spawning code will not appear, so you actually don't have to edit the ships out.

In vegastrike this is handled in /modules/faction_ships.py.
User avatar
Halleck
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1832
Topics: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: State of Denial

Postby chuck_starchaser » Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:01 pm

I noticed a disembodied OrionMK2 (or b, or h?; not sure).
I'm just looking at units.csv and everything seems in working order for the OrionMK2: Let me check again (line 470):

Column A: orionMK2 (there's also .blank and .template)
Column B: ./orionMk2
Column C: orionMK2
Column N: {orionmk2.bfxm;;}
I look and find a folder named "orionMk2".
Inside it there's an orionmk2.bfxm
Can't see what's wrong; I was hoping to find a capitalization mismatch or something; but everything seems just right.

OrionMK2b (line 509):

Column A: orionMk2b (there's also .blank and .template)
Column B: ./orionb
Column C: orionMk2b
Column N: {orionb.bfxm;;}
I look and find a folder named "orionb".
Inside it there's an orionb.bfxm
Nothing seems wrong either.

OrionMK2H (line 491):

Column A: orionMk2H (there's also .blank and .template)
Column B: ./heavyo
Column C: orionMk2H
Column N: {heavyo.bfxm;;}
I look and find a folder named "orionh".
Inside it there's an heavyo.bfxm
Nothing seems wrong either.

Unless the Scale numbers are messed up, or the bfxm's corrupt, can't imagine what else would cause this.

EDIT:
Scale is okay; 16 for all of them, same as the original orion.
Last edited by chuck_starchaser on Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby ace123 » Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:10 pm

There are a few reasons that a ship will not appear.

The most usual reason is that the line from units.csv is missing or wrong. Do you see LOAD_FAILED anywhere on your HUD screen when you target it?

Secondly, what does "invisible black blob" mean. Was it invisible or black. Black would indicate a lighting problem in the system or a missing texture. Invisible (you get 100 meters from it and see stars throguh the targetting box) would indicate a missing mesh file.
If you fire at it, does it get damaged/die?

Make sure there are no capitalization issues with the textures either.

FInally, deleting it from units.csv was the worst thing you can do. Now you've guarenteed that it will produce a LOAD_FAILED and invisible ship no matter how it is created. The proper way is to remove it from "faction_ships.py" in the modules folder. However you can fortunately repatch from the zip file again to restore a working units.csv
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
 
Posts: 2560
Topics: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA

Postby chuck_starchaser » Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:18 pm

Invisible as in not visible; I saw one (pun not quite intended) :D; a selection box in space with nothing in it.

I never looked to see if there was a LOAD_FAILED message, regrettably.

If the texture failed, the ship would look white, no? Or would that make the mesh seem transparent?

The selection box also seemed rather small, which I think was the case when the mesh was missing; but the meshes are there.

EDIT:
The mystery thickens: It can't be a mesh problem. The meshes for all the orions are the same, straight copies; and the textures are the same too. The only distinctions are subunits added on via units.csv, as far as I can tell.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby ace123 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:45 am

Possibly stderr and stdout could give us some hints as to the source of this problem.
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
 
Posts: 2560
Topics: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA

Postby chuck_starchaser » Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:53 am

I just went on a mission trying to find one of those and no luck. I'll try giving myself one of them...
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby chuck_starchaser » Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:19 am

Well, I gave myself the OrionMK2b, the OrionMk2H, and the TarsusMk2, and all of them work as the player's ship; I see my ship fine at landings and from external view in space.

Is there any way that meshes might show for the player's ship but not for npc's? I mean, I did see a disembodied ship that was labelled orionmk2 something or other...

But just in case, Hathur, where did you download PU from? From the Downloads here?, or some other place?
And did you run the batch file after unzipping?

EDIT:
In faction_ships.py, line 315 names "orionMk2h",
but in units.csv, it is called "orionMk2H".
Could this be causing the problem?
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Halleck » Sat Aug 11, 2007 5:52 am

Chuck, that capitalization looks fishy.

If you hacked yourself an Orion you may have capitalized it correctly, thus causing it to load properly.
User avatar
Halleck
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1832
Topics: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: State of Denial

Postby chuck_starchaser » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:37 am

Damn right; that is the problem. Tried lower-case 'h' in the save file, and I can fly the ship, but can't see it.

Would it be easy for the engine drop case-sensitivity? Causes NOTHING but problems.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby chuck_starchaser » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:00 am

Bug report filed. Thank you.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Dilloh » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:41 am

Those bugs are already solved. Everybody make sure that you've run setup.bat in your /Privateer folder, otherwised you'll get loads of those bugs.

The remaining bugs will be solved with Zools fix within the next release of PU. It's already tested.
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany

Postby S1Genocide » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:05 pm

Theres a list of new ship changes for the next version or Variant changes here.

http://wcjunction.com/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=42

I myself am quite happy with the changes they have made. :D

I am looking forward to the next version guys can't wait. :wink:
S1Genocide
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 29
Topics: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:46 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Postby Zool » Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:33 pm

You need to go through your current savegave with a good text editor and remove EVERY reference to the ships you do not want to appear, you must search the ENTIRE savegame file, and when you have removed them all save the file.

You can, as well, remove the appropriate entries from your units.csv, master_part_list.csv and just to be sure remove the ship folders from the units folder.
Time is an Illusion..............Lunchtime doubly so!! -Ford Prefect-
Check out Privateer themed goodies!
http://www.cafepress.com/soulfulngifted/2889859
User avatar
Zool
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 230
Topics: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 5:29 pm
Location: Roaming the Gemini Sector looking for profit!!



Return to Privateer Remake

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron