Another problem, and some questions

Forum For Privateer Remake

Another problem, and some questions

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:56 am

Okay, I got the game installed, but the starting cutscene is godawful slow, and the music skips like nobody's business. Any hints?

Related to this... I noticed that the installer wanted me to have timidity++ installed, so I installed that (and a nice soundfont). But all the midis in the music dir seem to have equivalent ogg files, and there are in fact oggs that don't have a midi equivalent. The oggs obviously sound better, so... should I get rid of timidity to force the game to use them? Or would that screw the game up? Does Privateer Remake 1.2 have ALSA support so that it can proper mixing can actually be done?

And finally... Is Burrow's awful whiny voice from the original game? :shock:

(BTW, the music is great...)
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby Dilloh » Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:59 am

Okay, I got the game installed, but the starting cutscene is godawful slow, and the music skips like nobody's business. Any hints?
Try installing the newest release of your video card drivers, that's fixing 99% of all slowness issues.
And finally... Is Burrow's awful whiny voice from the original game?
:) Sure...
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:35 pm

Current release is the newest. The game isn't actually slow - the cursor moves fine, etc. - the movie just moves frame by frame and the sound kind of stutters in sync with it.
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby chuck_starchaser » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:57 pm

The movie is not mpeg or anything like that; it's more like a gazillion images strung together, so it can be taxing on some machines.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:01 pm

... Ow. That's how you do all the cutscenes? Why not make the images into an mpeg file and have the game play it, engine limitations? :shock:

(If it's taxing for a modern system like mine, even relatively low-end, I don't want to know what it does to some obsolescent Pentium 4 desktop...)
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby chuck_starchaser » Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:03 pm

Adding mpeg support has been in the to-do list for quite a while. ;-)
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:37 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:07 pm

Okay, I get the low framerate thing... Looking at the animations at bases it looks like a feature, not a bug. Sorry, folks

Unfortunately, the audio continues to stutter, and, weirdly enough, echo - I hear some sounds repeat several times when they shouldn't. Any clues...?

(Also, are the pirates supposed to speak out loud when they taunt me? Because I ain't hearing it.)
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby Jeff2121 » Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:22 pm

Hmmm...Echo...check your speakers for demons, and if you don't know how...

1. Get a Preist, preferably a Vatican or Catholic one

2. Have him excise your speakers/computer, if you hear unholy screams, you found one

3. Sprikle Holy Water liberally, if smoke appears, the demon is going away :P

Okay seriously, try updating your sound drivers, that might help :?
My Dream Machine (Soon to Be):

Kingston 4GB DDR2 RAM
Intel Core 2 Duo E8600 Quad Core
Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX
320GB SATA HDD (Raid 0)
SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
User avatar
Jeff2121
Hunter
Hunter
 
Posts: 75
Topics: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:24 am

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:42 pm

Sound drivers = latest ALSA release. Don't get echo with anything else. :?
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby chuck_starchaser » Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:46 pm

I'd say you probably got one soundserver thread too many running.
What happened to me this past two hours was kind of weird. I started at Oxford, but from there I went to many places, but the oxford music kept playing in the background, all the time. When I finally quit playing, I saw another vegastrike button in my task bar. I clicked on it and it was another copy of vegastrike still at oxford...
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Miramor » Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:10 pm

Ah, I'll have to check that out. How would I prevent extraneous threads from starting with a single session of the game?
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby chuck_starchaser » Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:43 pm

What's happened to me at times was that after a crash of the main executable, the soundservers were still running, and I'd kill them manually through the task manager. I never had your problem of echos, but if I did, what I'd check first of all is the task manager (ctrl-alt-del), and see if there are too many soundservers there.
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Dilloh » Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:47 am

You might also have firewall problems. Soundserver connects to itself and therefor passes the firewall. XP users usually get a message then where you can set to always allow or always refuse access. You should always give access for it.

Also, you might be using xp-antispy and therefor have disabled such messages, so xpas prevents you from making the decision personally, and automatically blocks.
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany

Postby loki1950 » Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:39 am

Miramor uses linux Dilloh :wink: the firewall thing has never been a issue under linux but multi copies of the soundserver are a possibility.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Postby Miramor » Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:52 am

Using Arch Linux, not WinXP. Not sure about the firewall thing, though I don't think it should be an issue as I haven't bothered to set up iptables. :oops:
Miramor
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
 
Posts: 410
Topics: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:15 pm

Postby Dilloh » Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:08 am

:roll: Oops... I apologize guys...
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany

I have the same choking problem

Postby drinkypoo » Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:56 am

I have a compaq nw9440 (core duo T2600, nvidia quadro fx1500 256MB, 2GB memory...) and I am running Ubuntu Feisty with the latest nvidia drivers. If this much machine can't process some low-res still images and an audio track, there's something wrong.

It happened the first time I started the game, so it oughtn't to be an audio server problem. And if it is, why on earth does the game (or whatever launches it) not check to see if there is one already started?
drinkypoo
Hunter
Hunter
 
Posts: 81
Topics: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:19 am
Location: Kelseyville, CA, USA



Return to Privateer Remake

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron