how do I use tractor beam without firing guns?

Forum For Privateer Remake

how do I use tractor beam without firing guns?

Postby Hathur » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:26 am

My turret has a tractor beam in it, but I can't use/fire it without firing my main guns... when I switch to my turret and press the trigger, my guns fire as well as my tractor beam (thus, when i aim at cargo, it blows up due to the guns).

What key activates the tractor beam without firing guns? Is there a way to just switch the tractor beam on and the guns off? I checked the manual and it has no such key.
Hathur
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 12
Topics: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:27 am

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby Halleck » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:29 am

In vegastrike you can use the G key to cycle weapons, not sure what the binding for this function is in PR.
Last edited by Halleck on Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:35 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Halleck
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1832
Topics: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: State of Denial

Postby Hathur » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:31 am

Yeah i've pressed G and it doesn't cycle, just brings up weapon display (I haven't altered any controls, this is a pure install, nothing altered).
Hathur
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 12
Topics: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:27 am

Postby Halleck » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:35 am

According to the VSWiki, G is bound to "WeapSelKey", so if you look for that function in your vegastrike.config for PR, you should be able to find what key it's bound to, if any.

I checked in my old Privateer Remake install (1.0 Release Candidate) and it looks like WeapSelKey is bound to some obscure joystick switch or 8th mouse button, but I don't see a key binding for it. Not sure if this changed in more recent versions of PR, but you could add a key binding for it in your config if one doesn't exist.

Not hard to do by just copying some other binding in the XML but you have to make sure to assign it to an unused key. Here's a javascript keybinder utility that might be of help (I never tested it with PR though.)
User avatar
Halleck
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1832
Topics: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: State of Denial

Postby chuck_starchaser » Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:16 am

Yeah, it's G for scrolling through gun configurations, and W for scrolling weapons, like missiles.
I can't remember if the tractor beam is a "gun" or a "weapon", tho :roll:
I think it was a W-eapon, as it uses the Enter key to fire, or didn't it; I got a flu and a fever, and my brain isn't working, so maybe you'll have to dismiss this post. ;-)
User avatar
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 8014
Topics: 195
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:03 pm
Location: Montreal

Postby Psyco Diver 69 » Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:16 am

I use G to cycle through them. W will cycle through everything, missles, guns, tractor beam
Psyco Diver 69
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 129
Topics: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:32 pm
Location: Here

Postby micheal_andreas_stahl » Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:47 am

I think that a tractor beam is a gun.

MAS
"The bullets come out of the slim end, mate!"

Sniper after dominating another Sniper
Team Fortress 2
User avatar
micheal_andreas_stahl
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1030
Topics: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:02 am
Location: Gemini, Troy, Helen

Postby Dilloh » Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:43 am

Beam weapons are being mounted on warhead mounts, so they are being handled as weapons, not guns. So W is correct.
User avatar
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter
 
Posts: 1149
Topics: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:56 am
Location: Black Forest, Germany



Return to Privateer Remake

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron