Bug workaround? (destroyed save)

Forum For Privateer Remake
elShoggotho

Bug workaround? (destroyed save)

Post by elShoggotho »

I made a grave mistake. After a slight modification of my save, which had some interesting side-effects (I modified my Paradigm into paradigm.stock, which in turn reverted my Centurion to just-after-main-campaign status, giving me a Boosted Steltek gun in the middle of RF), I switched ships in the middle of a mission. That wiped my mission log just as I was doing the informant mission. I was on a stop in Perry on my way to New Detroit. I saved the lot over my main save, idiot that I am.

Now I'm a newbie regarding save modifications. Can someone explain to me how I change the save in a way to give me that informant mission back?
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer

Post by ace123 »

I think you referred to a bug that was fixed in the unstable version... however I'm not sure if this was exactly it, or a variant of a similar problem related to your ship getting destroyed when you switch ships.

Anyway, if this was a campaign mission, you can almost always talk to the guy who gave you the mission, and he will restore it for you... but you will lose your progress. Otherwise, you are out of luck :-(

Now, the mission should not be failed (again, save often under different names to avoid this). I think that the bug deleted the mission but did not fail it entirely (and even so, the campaign might be friendly)
elShoggotho

Post by elShoggotho »

Seemingly, I'm out of luck. My Capella contact only tells me to make haste in completing that mission that dropped from the roster while there's no one in New Detroit to receive my data. That may come from the fact that my ship reverted to another status, possibly taking the mission cargo with it.
elShoggotho
Star Pilot
Star Pilot

Post by elShoggotho »

I'm still here...
micheal_andreas_stahl
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter

Post by micheal_andreas_stahl »