Turrets and LODs

Need help testing contributed art or code or having trouble getting your newest additions into game compatible format? Confused by changes to data formats? Reading through source and wondering what the developers were thinking when they wrote something? Need "how-to" style guidance for messing with VS internals? This is probably the right forum.
Post Reply
Ryder P. Moses
Daredevil Venturer
Daredevil Venturer
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:59 am

Turrets and LODs

Post by Ryder P. Moses »

Hoooow I doooo iiiiit?
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Post by klauss »

LODs: Create them as normal meshes.
To attach LODs to a unit, you have to go through xmesh.
I'll assume you have object_01.obj, object_02.obj, object_nn.obj as input files:

Code: Select all


/* create bfxm files for each LOD level */

mesher object01.obj 01.bfxm obc
mesher object02.obj 02.bfxm obc
mesher objectnn.obj nn.bfxm obc

/* convert the bfxm files into xmesh files for editing LOD info */

mesher 01.bfxm 0_0.xmesh bxc
mesher 02.bfxm 0_1.xmesh bxc
mesher nn.bfxm 0_nn.xmesh bxc
edit 0_0.xmesh to add LOD info (I'll tell soon)
mesher 0_0.xmesh damnable_intent.bfxm xbc
mesher 1_0.xmesh damnable_intent.bfxm xba (optional, if you have multiple textures)
etc...

And you're set.

Now... to edit the xmeshes, just copy what you find in existing models (take the clydesdale as a good example - do mesher clydesdale.bfxm 0_0.xmesh bxc and examine the 0_0.xmesh - the rest you do not need to change). In this example, damnable_intent.bfxm will now contain the whole unit, with LODs and everything.


Turrets:

You add turrets as subunits in units.csv... I know the entry in units.csv has lots of subfields (position, scale, rotation, for every subunit), but more I know not. Perhaps you can guess by taking a look at it (obviously, under the "subunits" column).
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
Ryder P. Moses
Daredevil Venturer
Daredevil Venturer
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:59 am

Post by Ryder P. Moses »

Oh no, not Mesher.

Thanks, though, I'll see if I can get that to work.

And I was asking more how to create turrets, with the heirarchies and all.
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Post by klauss »

Sorry... I don't really know that much about turrets. Only that they're subunits (sometimes, subunits of subunits - don't ask me why).
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
jackS
Minister of Information
Minister of Information
Posts: 1895
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 9:40 pm
Location: The land of tenure (and diaper changes)

Post by jackS »

klauss wrote:Sorry... I don't really know that much about turrets. Only that they're subunits (sometimes, subunits of subunits - don't ask me why).
There are as many sublevels as there are moving parts. The standard two part turret has a base that can only rotate in one plane, and a subunit, with the actual weapons, that can only rotate in a perpendicular plane.
Post Reply