multicore support?

Need help testing contributed art or code or having trouble getting your newest additions into game compatible format? Confused by changes to data formats? Reading through source and wondering what the developers were thinking when they wrote something? Need "how-to" style guidance for messing with VS internals? This is probably the right forum.
Post Reply
Luedtke6788
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:09 pm

multicore support?

Post by Luedtke6788 »

Hello everyone,

I noticed today that when running in windows, Vega only uses CPU 0. As my windows box has a quad core, you could probably imagine how slow it runs.
On the other hand my Linux box only has a dual core, but runs fine on both cores. Both where compiled from SVN. VS. 2008 in windows

So on to my question, seen as I'm getting two different outcomes based on OS/# of cores, Does this game support multiple cores in windows or does it just not support quad cores?
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: multicore support?

Post by loki1950 »

Welcome Luedtke6788 not sure as i haven't managed to get a build on Win7 yet.But if i remember there has not been a specific effort to make the current code Multi-code friendly but most Linux libs currently do support multi-threading and i am not sure but i suspect that all the .dll's we use should be recompiled and brought all into the Multi-core age.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
Luedtke6788
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:09 pm

Re: multicore support?

Post by Luedtke6788 »

Thanks for the info, Maybe i just didn't compile it correctly.

I'll try again later tonight, and see if i can find a solution.
Luedtke6788
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:09 pm

Re: multicore support?

Post by Luedtke6788 »

Alright windows users, i went through the source and upgraded every header/lib/dll I could find. Upgrading GLUT to 3.7.6 Made the biggest difference though. The Glut exe is ridiculously faster then it was before.

I would highly recommend to the devs to go through all the static headers/libs/dlls for windows and upgrade them to newer versions on SVN

Linux users don't have to worry about this seen as all libs are compiled on build, depending on what dev packages are installed on their box.


EDIT: I also noticed there are a lot of macro redefinitions when compiling on windows, is this done for a reason or is it simply just an oversight on someones part?
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: multicore support?

Post by loki1950 »

EDIT: I also noticed there are a lot of macro redefinitions when compiling on windows, is this done for a reason or is it simply just an oversight on someones part?
I do believe for a reason as without those redefinitions continent on various versions of of Visual Studio it may not compile period again dependant on the version in question.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
Post Reply