Code simplification request: Mesher Classic

A forum for the discussion and development of programs to assist working on or playing with the Vegastrike engine and data sets.
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite

Code simplification request: Mesher Classic

Post by chuck_starchaser »

This is a request for any C++ coder with some time to spare.
It is not an "official" request, as in coming from VS developers; I'm a 3D modeler, asking for a "fork" of an existing tool.

The job does not require knowledge of the VS engine.
It's about *simplifying* a small program, a utility called "mesher", which is used to convert 3D meshes from Wavefront .obj format to Vegastrike BFXM format and back; and from BFXM format to Vegastrike XMESH format and back. The code is available on svn.

Using mesher:

Typically, you'd export a .obj file, then go,
mesher myship.obj myship.bfxm obc
mesher myship.bfxm myship.xmesh bxc
Then you would edit the xmesh file, then,
mesher myship.xmesh myship.bfxm xbc
--That's it.--

It used to work well, until 3 or 4 years ago, when a new feature was added to it, to enable it to read .mtl files. MTL files are files that accompany OBJ files, and list the materials used.

I suppose this feature was added in order to be able to take some ready-made, existing model *with textures*, in some modelling app like Max or Wings or whatever, export to .obj + .mtl, and have mesher seamlessly convert that to bfxm for inclusion in Vegastrike.

The problem is, this new feature was not made optional, but mandatory.
You *must* have an .mtl file for mesher to work.
This is problematic because mesher also assumes that each "material" denotes an intent to put something into a separate mesh; which precludes your exporting obj from a working mesh with multiple materials.