Crashing on approach to serenity

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!

Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:14 pm

Hi,

I'm having an issue with the SVN (13666). I just started this game, haven't done any missions. I start at Atlantis, load up on cargo to sell at Serenity and take off. Everything is fine as I spec over to Serenity, but at some time after I come out of spec and approach the base, VS crashes back to desktop with no error messages. My system specs are:

AMD FX-6100 - 8 GB Ram - AMD HD 7770 - Windows 7 64 bit
My graphics settings in vsconfig are pretty much all at the second highest setting.

I've attached stderr and stdout from just after the crash happened. I see a bunch of warnings and errors in there, mostly related to python, but I've really got no clue what I'm looking at. Why are there so many lines about ship_upgrades.py in stdout.txt for example?

Does anyone have any idea what's causing this crash?
Attachments
stderr.txt
(5.06 KiB) Downloaded 73 times
stdout.txt
(62.49 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby warpnoob » Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:29 pm

Yup. That problem already occurs at 0.5.1. It actually tends to crash whenever you approach bases, planets, or -especially often- jumppoints.
That's why I say, until anyone says anything about these errors, play 0.5.0.
warpnoob
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 19
Topics: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby loki1950 » Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:23 pm

The only thing in the logs are a reference to a Missing AI script (afterburn evade)so this is one that klauss will have to look in to as I am not at all familiar with the code involved.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:33 pm

After about 4 failed attempts to get to Serenity I did two things (I know, too many variables). I updated my AMD GPU drivers from 13.6 to 13.12. They weren't terribly out of date, considering the HD 7770 is not exactly a new gpu. I also started a new campaign. I'm not sure if changes made using the setup utility only apply to new campaigns, or to current games, but if it's the former, that may be relevant. Either way, something I did seems to have eliminated the crash on approach to Serenity. I've been there and back and few times with no problems.
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby loki1950 » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:20 pm

Could you keep an eye on your logs for a while to see if any more of those missing AI script errors are thrown I have a feeling that we haven't seen the last of them :shock: It may be that some NPC was targeted in your area by a bad boy NPC and that error happened so I think it's still a possibility.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:01 pm

I haven't had any crashes on approach to jumps, planets, or stations since my last post. I've only done a few though, so we'll see.
I did just get a crash on trying to jump to bernards for the storyline, and it gave me a crash dialog window this time. I believe it said something about a Visual C++ runtime error, and I'm pasting the details below:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: vegastrike.exe
Application Version: 0.5.2.13657
Application Timestamp: 52278107
Fault Module Name: wrap_oal.dll
Fault Module Version: 2.2.0.7
Fault Module Timestamp: 4b04488c
Exception Code: 40000015
Exception Offset: 00048441
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 6fd1
Additional Information 2: 6fd1cc53f841a34001a33ef7a76b0802
Additional Information 3: 784a
Additional Information 4: 784a804b4039e48ea52781d8fe9f91d9


I'm also attaching stderr and stdout
Attachments
stderr.txt
(8.22 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
stdout.txt
(80.62 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:47 pm

There was a second crash report that I forgot to include on the first post:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: vegastrike.exe
Application Version: 0.5.2.13657
Application Timestamp: 52278107
Fault Module Name: atioglxx.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.14.10.12618
Fault Module Timestamp: 52a23a81
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00aba956
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: ae8c
Additional Information 2: ae8cb9b9d168edb58a2e4ac353e94a86
Additional Information 3: b981
Additional Information 4: b981ff04ce2d13f8bc3e0faf4bf73a77


again, this is from a crash after hitting J at a jump point. Sometimes I get a crash approaching the point, sometimes I'm able to get within range and try to jump.
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby loki1950 » Tue Feb 11, 2014 9:49 pm

The first crash report you posted blames the wrap_oal.dll which is the OpenAL sound library while the second blames atioglxx.dll which is part of your ATI graphics driver stderr does give us a trace back though :) that points to a Python module call and a index error on an array so it's getting lost trying to access something in units.csv and bailing when it can't find it,so there must be something wrong in the units class or it's methods I can't intuit anything else as I never did grok OOP completely even if I have been programming since the sixties ;)

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby klauss » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:18 pm

The first one suggests a missing music fix patch (there's a patch that fixes this). If you're using SVN... maybe it already has the music fix applied? (I don't know).

The second one suggests shader issues. Try updating the drivers if possible, if already updated, try setting No Shaders.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:42 pm

Loki,

I should probably clarify the crash reports I posted. They are the result of two separate crashes, BUT both wrap_oal.dll and the atiogl dll were involved in both. I just accidentally clicked through the ati crash report on the first time around, so I made a second post. I've gotten this crash a few times since, when trying to jump, and wrap_oal.dll + atioglxx.dll show up each time.
I will try the updated music fix binary next. I had to use it with the 0.5.1 to get the music working anyways.
As far as turning off shaders, I will try that as well. What will I miss out on graphically if I do so?
I've seen a few posts and links trashing AMD/ATI's drivers. I'm a fan of their hardware, especially GPU's, because they easily beat NVIDIA in the compute/mining field. Have any of the VS dev people heard about their new API, Mantle, and do any of you have anything to say about it either in general or related to VS?
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby klauss » Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:53 pm

ScottHorn wrote:As far as turning off shaders, I will try that as well. What will I miss out on graphically if I do so?

Most of the eye candy on planets, ships won't look as pretty, but by far the biggest difference is in planets.

ScottHorn wrote:I've seen a few posts and links trashing AMD/ATI's drivers. I'm a fan of their hardware, especially GPU's, because they easily beat NVIDIA in the compute/mining field. Have any of the VS dev people heard about their new API, Mantle, and do any of you have anything to say about it either in general or related to VS?


Yeah, their hardware is great, but their drivers suck. Big time. I'll be very happy when they get their drivers right. For now, I've been sticking to nVidia because developing on AMD is a pain in the neck.

As for alternate APIs... no chance whatsoever of using them. We're pretty much married to OpenGL. There is a chance of AMD fixing their drivers, since it recently became very important for GPU makers to have good OpenGL support with Steam buying hard into OpenGL. But that's more likely for the long term.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:50 pm

Ok, I swapped in the new vegastrike.exe from the music fix into my SVN and got this when I tried to start:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: vegastrike.exe
Application Version: 0.5.1.13358
Application Timestamp: 4f8c9a7e
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18247
Fault Module Timestamp: 521ea8e7
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00038e19
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

So I'm going to go back to the exe from the SVN and see if turning off the shaders does anything.
I've noticed that there is a newer version of this openal DLL available. Would that help any?
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:51 pm

I'm back to the original exe from svn 13666, but I have a question.
When I turn off shaders in VS_Setup, or any setting for that matter, does it apply to previously saved games, or only to new campaigns?
I turned off shaders as per klauss's post, but everything ingame looks pretty much the same. I still get the same error (openAL and atioglxx related) when I try to jump to bernards. So I'm wondering if my config settings have any effect.

I also worried that VS_Setup and Vegastrike itself may be working on two separate config files. Does these lines from stderr look ok:

Using C:\Users\Scott\Desktop\SVN\VS\data as data directory
CONFIGFILE - No config found in home : C:\Users\Scott\Documents/.vegastrike/vegastrike.config
CONFIGFILE - No home config file found, using datadir config file : C:\Users\Scott\Desktop\SVN\VS\data/vegastrike.config
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby loki1950 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:43 pm

They do indeed right for Windows when using the svn version as there is no home directory as such on Windows the other location for it is C:\Users\Denis Belanger\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\Vega Strike\Vegastrike-0.5.0 but that is for when the game is installed to Program Files as normal apps do not have permissions to write there.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:33 pm

Re-asking the first question in my previous post:

If I make changes to settings (graphics, difficulty, etc) in VS_Setup.exe (I'm using svn 13666 btw), do those changes apply to my current campaign and saves, or do I need to start a new campaign for those changes to take effect?
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby TBeholder » Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:05 pm

Uh, how? This would be weird. VS reads everything at runtime, though only once. Game speed is more dodgy, but should not be saved. To check, choose the fastest physics settings for some stock ship on a base, start VS, look at acceleration values in "ship info", exit, check the same ship under the slowest settings. Should be different.
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
User avatar
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
 
Posts: 744
Topics: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:40 pm
Location: chthonic safety

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby PaulB » Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:11 am

ScottHorn wrote:Re-asking the first question in my previous post:

If I make changes to settings (graphics, difficulty, etc) in VS_Setup.exe (I'm using svn 13666 btw), do those changes apply to my current campaign and saves, or do I need to start a new campaign for those changes to take effect?

Any changes you make using Setup (which change the vegastrike.config file) or by manually editing the file yourself take effect when you run the game again. Your progress in the game up to this point are irrelevent and not affected. Only the change you made is affected.
Of course depending on what you changed - like Difficulty level - would affect how the game plays from that point on.

Paul
PaulB
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 41
Topics: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:19 am

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby ScottHorn » Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:55 pm

Thanks Tbeholder and PaulB.

I other news, I tried overwriting the "afterburn evade.xml" file with a copy of the plain "evade.xml" and it seemed to reduce the frequency of my crashes. I still get them enough to make gameplay really frustrating though, so I've shelved my attempts to play the SVN for a while. I really don't want to go back to 0.5.0 if there's a way to play the newer version though. Which leads to my next questions:

1. Is the latest SVN inherently unstable, or is it just unstable with windows? I've only used linux a few times for boot cds, but it seems everyone around here plays VS on Linux boxes. Would it be feasible (easy) to set up a boot cd, or dual boot into some Linux distro for the purpose of playing the SVN? Would I have trouble finding drivers etc? Any recommendations for someone who is not to familiar with Linux?

2. If the latest SVN is unstable under windows, is there one that is known to work? Or does these problems exist in everything since 0.5.0?
ScottHorn
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 20
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: Crashing on approach to serenity

Postby loki1950 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 4:45 pm

Just an option here the current svn is unstable the main reason as far as I can figure out happened with the split of units.csv into smaller sub-files it's still a work in progress and most likely exposing lots of other issues that have been buried for a while.As for setting up a dual boot system it's fairly easy now the driver issue is a non issue really drivers on Linux are part of the kernel currently most hardware just works the only real issue is the use of closed source drivers for your graphics card with Nvidia providing the better driver and support than AMD/ATI ones ATM they are getting better but slowly,we as a project have exposed several real bugs in both over the years with Nvidia being the most responsive.If you do decide to go that route we would be happy the help with both your planning(which distro/desktop) and execution(partitioning,install and setup).

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5715
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa



Return to Bug Triage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests