13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!

13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:41 pm

Just when I thought I'd start playing agian too.
stderr.txt
Code: Select all
GOT SUBDIR ARG =
Found data in C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\bin/../data
Using C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data as data directory
USING HOMEDIR : C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/.vegastrike As the home directory
CONFIGFILE - No config found in home : C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/.vegastrike/vegastrike.config
CONFIGFILE - No home config file found, using datadir config file : C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/vegastrike.config
MISSION_NAME is empty using : main_menu.mission
Attempt to call ReadFull on a bad file units.csv -1 C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/units/units.csv
running import sys
print sys.path
sys.path = [r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\builtin",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\quests",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\missions",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\ai",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\bases"] + sys.path
testing VS randomrunning import sys
print sys.path
  Initializing renderer...
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

Min (0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) Max(0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) MinLumin 1.000000, MaxLumin 1.000000Read In Star Count 0 used: 2000
Min (0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) Max(0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) MinLumin 1.000000, MaxLumin 1.000000Read In Star Count 0 used: 38
Loading a starsystem
Loading Star System Special/Empty
FOUND MODIFICATION = player FOR PLAYER #0


stdout.txt
Code: Select all
 In path C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\bin
Windows version 5 1
Vega Strike 
See http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html for license details.

Using .vegastrike as the home directory
['C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin\\python27.zip', '.\\DLLs', '.\\lib', '.\\lib\\plat-win', '.\\lib\\lib-tk', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin']
['C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\builtin', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\quests', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\missions', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\ai', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\bases', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin\\python27.zip', '.\\DLLs', '.\\lib', '.\\lib\\plat-win', '.\\lib\\lib-tk', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin']


Refreshed my config file then droped everything to minimal with no change. If needed I'll backtrack to a good revision and post when the no-go happened. I can post dxdiag if needed too, but I doubt hardware is involved.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby TBeholder » Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:28 am

move or symlink the config directory to "data/.vegastrike"?
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
User avatar
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
 
Posts: 732
Topics: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:40 pm
Location: chthonic safety

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:02 pm

Well, that did not work. I've been kind of waiting for some of the new features to get worked in, so it's far from critical, but I doubt I'm the only one with this issue.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:13 pm

Did you try the older binary?

I don't remember any incompatibility with older binaries. There are bugfixes you'd miss, but it should mostly work.

If it does, at least it would point where the fault is (ie: not the dataset).

Also, make sure you have the corresponding data revision, because there have been many data changes in those revisions.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby TBeholder » Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:21 pm

wait, it says "Attempt to call ReadFull on a bad file units.csv -1 C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/units/units.csv" after it found "main_menu.mission"?.. maybe, really something with units.csv?
I don't remember how fallbacks normally look in the log under windoze, though.
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
User avatar
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
 
Posts: 732
Topics: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:40 pm
Location: chthonic safety

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:54 pm

There was a crashing bug with that message, but I think it has been fixed.
Maybe not in windows?
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:29 pm

I grab data sets at the same time as everything else. Just let SVN do it's thing on the whole folder. If it isn't sorted out soon, I'll start steping back to find the problem area.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:41 pm

Not finding a good point, but my blind stabing may have found something. When where cube maps "fixed" last? It seems to hang when loading black_light.cube

I'd like to save on my bandwidth and only role back what is needed so revision number and folder if you have a point for me to test please.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:59 am

Not sure what you mean by fixed, but you can go through the commit history here (you have the arrows for moving back and forth)
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby ravager » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:01 pm

the bug is somewhere in data\techniques
ravager
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
 
Posts: 4
Topics: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:57 am

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby ravager » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:17 pm

a work around is to downgrade data\techniques to revision 13295
ravager
Star Pilot
Star Pilot
 
Posts: 4
Topics: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:57 am

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:11 pm

That's right, I forgot, the change in revision 13296 requires a new binary. :oops:

Reverting techniques works fine as a workaround until someone builds a new binary.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:19 pm

Well, I don't get an abnormal termination any more.... that's progress.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:15 pm

I see Beta 2 is "out the door", do we have an ETA on the new Windows binary/.exe to see if that fixes my issue? Still trying to get a Linux Destro on my USB drive to remain stable and have enough room to install VS... maybe I need a 16 GB one.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:26 pm

log0 commited an updated binary to SVN, it should work with the released dataset.

Did you try? (I'd be interested to know if it works)

Last windows installer release was made by pheonixstorm, IIRC, so we depend on him to do it this time as well.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:32 pm

At work now, I'll post here one way or another when I can.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:40 pm

Updated to latest Windows SVN, I dont get the C error, but it now dies (Still before bringing up the menue) about where it loads shield.bump At least that's what I think it says.
stderr
Code: Select all
GOT SUBDIR ARG =
Found data in C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\bin/../data
Using C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data as data directory
USING HOMEDIR : C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/.vegastrike As the home directory
CONFIGFILE - Found a config file in home directory, using : C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/.vegastrike/vegastrike.config
MISSION_NAME is empty using : main_menu.mission
Attempt to call ReadFull on a bad file units.csv -1 C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data/units/units.csv
running import sys
print sys.path
sys.path = [r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\builtin",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\quests",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\missions",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules\ai",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\modules",r"C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\data\bases"] + sys.path
testing VS randomrunning import sys
print sys.path
  Initializing renderer...
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

Min (0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) Max(0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) MinLumin 1.000000, MaxLumin 1.000000Read In Star Count 0 used: 2000
Min (0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) Max(0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000) MinLumin 1.000000, MaxLumin 1.000000Read In Star Count 0 used: 38
Loading a starsystem
Loading Star System Special/Empty
FOUND MODIFICATION = player FOR PLAYER #0
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
 
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.




stdout
Code: Select all

 In path C:\Program Files\Vega Strike\Desktopvsnew\bin
Windows version 5 1
Vega Strike 
See http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html for license details.

Using .vegastrike as the home directory
['C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin\\python27.zip', '.\\DLLs', '.\\lib', '.\\lib\\plat-win', '.\\lib\\lib-tk', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin']
['C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\builtin', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\quests', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\missions', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules\\ai', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\modules', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\data\\bases', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin\\python27.zip', '.\\DLLs', '.\\lib', '.\\lib\\plat-win', '.\\lib\\lib-tk', 'C:\\Program Files\\Vega Strike\\Desktopvsnew\\bin']
1 joysticks were found.

The names of the joysticks are:
    Logitech Extreme 3D Pro USB
axes: 4 buttons: 12 hats: 1
using NV_CUBE_MAP
Initializing optimizer
Compilation of technique fixed successful
Compilation of technique default successful
Compilation of technique default_simple successful


Tried things at low and high graphics settings

Edit: I have a shortcut I can launch from, so give me the windows syntax and I can add one of the debug codes. If it will help, that is.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby log0 » Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:02 am

Interesting. It runs for me on two different machines, but both have got win7. I assume you are pulling vegastrike/trunk/win32 not only the exe? Have you tried reseting the config, disabling sounds maybe?
log0
 

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:53 am

There's nothing in the output that would indicate why it crashed.
I think we'll need a debugger.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:19 am

Did some digging, knew I saw it in a post, do I correctly assume that all I need to do is change the command in my link to ...vegastrike.exe-debug=3 ?
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:26 am

vegastrie <space> -debug=3

But no, by "a debugger" I meant a debugger like OllyDbg or Visual Studio. Or something like that.

BTW, Are you sure it's not the infamous openal issue?
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:56 am

Well, it was working fine a few months ago.... Guess I can try to update it (OpenAL).

Log0:
Yes, I am updating everything at once. I have not killed sound, but I have tried other config options. And I hear the music just fine.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:03 pm

You know, this does sound like an assertion failure or uncaught exception.

When you have the development libraries (MSVC) installed, it pops a nice dialog box telling you what happened, but I've seen it die silently in non-devel rigs.

So a debugger would shed a truckload of light into this situation (by showing what broke).
It remains on the to-do list to make VS itself print this out before aborting. It wasn't as easy as I hoped last time I tried.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby travists » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:09 pm

Well, I just grabbed OllyDbg 1.10. Some usage guidance to get you the report you need would be nice. Again, not home so it will be some time before I can try.
User avatar
travists
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary
 
Posts: 893
Topics: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Sol III North American Continent

Re: 13279 Dies before reaching Main Menu

Postby klauss » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:21 pm

Just make it break on uncaught exceptions (which should be the default anyway), and run it.
When it dies, take a look at the stack to find out where it broke.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina


Next

Return to Bug Triage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron