Rescue missions, can't tractor pilots

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!

Rescue missions, can't tractor pilots

Postby DaveAshton » Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:13 am

Just a quick question. How do you tractor pilots for rescue missions?

I use a Plowshare for the rescue missions, equipped with 2 tractor beams. I can pull in floating cargo without any problems, but I can't latch on to the pilots. it's like the tractor beam just doesn't "see" the pilot.

I always fly empty when I'm doing missions (except cargo deliveries, obviously), so I'm not too full to collect the ejection pod. Do I need to buy anything specific to let me pick them up?
User avatar
DaveAshton
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 49
Topics: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:04 am

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: Rescue missions, can't tractor pilots

Postby pheonixstorm » Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:00 pm

Well, sounds like your doing it correctly. So you target the pilot and fire up the tractor and nothing happens?

If it worked in .5 but not in .5.1 something might be broken. Then again all mission code is python based and thats always been a little flaky from what ive learned.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: Rescue missions, can't tractor pilots

Postby DaveAshton » Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:36 am

pheonixstorm wrote:Well, sounds like your doing it correctly. So you target the pilot and fire up the tractor and nothing happens?
Pretty much, yeah.

I get to the destination, the pilot pops up as a mission target, and I spin round to face it. Then, press [L] to lock on, move to within 100 meters or so, put the crosshairs over the pilot, hold the trigger down (while using the tractor beam, obviously)... and nothing happens.

I've also pressed [M] to cycle to the "view the target" camera while attempting it, and could see the tractor beam actually going directly through the pilot.
User avatar
DaveAshton
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 49
Topics: 14
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:04 am

Re: Rescue missions, can't tractor pilots

Postby pheonixstorm » Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:35 pm

Since this is probably a bug I'm going to move it over to the bugs forum.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: Rescue missions, can't tractor pilots

Postby TBeholder » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:32 am

Heavy Tractor does the same?
By chance, you don't turn "match velocity" on while approaching and forget to turn it off before tractoring?

Tractors are controlled in vegastrike.config, try the default?
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
User avatar
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
 
Posts: 744
Topics: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:40 pm
Location: chthonic safety



Return to Bug Triage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron