[FIXED] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switching

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!

[FIXED] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switching

Postby philo » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:44 am

Hi all,

this bug occurs on Windows XP in both the beta and svn versions:
when task switching from VS to programmes on the desktop, the mouse cursor is frozen in the upper left corner of the screen and will not be released. Hence there is no mouse functionality for other applications like VS star maps and trading aids. In 0.5.0-stable task switching was no problem whatsoever.

On top of the above, I noticed that the game tends to crash with a C++ runtime error (abnormal program termination), if you switch to desktop and then wait for a while. I attached the std files for two such crashes.

I've only been playing Svn for a little more than a week, so I cannot tell what it was like before the windows binaries were updated a couple of revisions ago.
Attachments
desktop crash - stderr.stdout.zip
(10.06 KiB) Downloaded 100 times
DxDiag.zip
(10.97 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
Last edited by philo on Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
___________________
Main system: Core 2 Duo E8400 2 x 3.00GHz; Geforce 8500 GT (512 Mb); 4 GB DDR2; Onboard sound.
philo
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 15
Topics: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:57 am

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby pheonixstorm » Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:20 am

That could be from a change in the SDL code or something that got changed in the VS code. Though I really think its the SDL code as SDL handles the mouse work. As for the alt tabbing... its iffy on where that bug is. Could be VS, SDL, or OpenGL. I played in windowed mode under xp all the time so I could keep an eye on other apps such as the debugger and compiler or even a web browser while waiting for my loaded ship to clear a gravity well... Sadly the game isnt as windows friendly as it could be.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby Mr. Fahrenheit » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:38 am

I had a lot of trouble with frequent game crashes before finding the magic of a processor affinity shortcut. After that, I really saw no specific problems in a full-screen game.

I have not tried playing in a window very much, and so I am curious in what respects you find the game not 'windows friendly'. Is it perhaps in so far as things like actually needing to specify processor affinity in windows (I assume you don't have to on other platforms) and these other issues with mouse control? Do those things just not crop up on other platforms?

If non-Windows is more stable, I might try booting into a 'live CD' sort of Linux environment and see how that goes.

Thanks for any insight.
Mr. Fahrenheit
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 26
Topics: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:06 am

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby philo » Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:10 pm

Thanks for the answer, phoenixstorm.
But the point is: 0.5.0 does not have this problem at all; it is, inasmuch as I can tell, very windows-friendly. You can TAB out of the game, do whatever you like and for as long as you like, then return to the game without having encountered any issue.

It's no big thing for me to run the game on Linux (all of my boxes are multi-booters and Linux is my main OS at home), but shouldn't it be in the interest of the developers of a cross-platform game to not deteriorate over time in the level of support for one of those platforms? If it worked well once, why did it stop to do so now? And the fact that the game actually crashes when running in the background for a little while most likely is an indicator of a bug more serious than just a mouse pointer hi-jack.

SDL rings a bell. I faintly remember problems with the mouse and with fullscreen in another open source game project (Seven Kingdoms) when switching to SDL; but IIRC these problems were caused by their implementation of SDL, not by SDL itself, and they got the issue fixed after a while.

My experience with large subversioned projects is very limited, so the following may sound naive, but shouldn't it be possible to test run the Vegastrike Windows executables in all the revisions between 0.5.0 and 0.5.1beta from the repo, check when the issue first started occurring and then look at the diff in order to get a clue about what might be causing it?
This would be revisions 12390 through 13117 (I already tested 12289, it's fine), a total of 9 vegastrike.exe versions.
If I keep playing around with the subversion tools a while longer I may even be able to assist ....
___________________
Main system: Core 2 Duo E8400 2 x 3.00GHz; Geforce 8500 GT (512 Mb); 4 GB DDR2; Onboard sound.
philo
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 15
Topics: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:57 am

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby pheonixstorm » Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:52 pm

For the most part when it comes to windows work im it. Theres one or two others that run windows but the vast majority who code and play VS on the forums run linux. All the code and libraries are cross platform (or supposed to be) but are as with VS written for the most part in a linux enviorment. Thats why it isnt windows friendly. As of now all i do is try to bug check the code as I see it and compile new binaries. I playtest the new binaries as much as I can but for the most part dont spend as much time on it as I once did.

In any event there are far too few developers currently working on VS especially in the art department. If we could find a few more windows coders we would be in much better shape as far as windows only bugs are concerned.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby philo » Thu Aug 25, 2011 6:52 am

I see. Then let me thank you for your time and commitment.

I have a couple more bugs and odd behaviours to report, but as far as I can tell, this was the only Windows-specific one which comes along with a VS runtime error.


@ Mr. Fahrenheit:
I think a live CD Linux environment will not do, because you need to install/compile VS and also need persistent storage. There is a live DVD from linux-gamers.net with most popular Linux games pre-installed and ready to play, but VS does not seem to be among them.
For your purposes, I guess you will do best with a Linux installation on a 4-8 GB pendrive. This website offers lots and lots of advice: http://www.pendrivelinux.com/
___________________
Main system: Core 2 Duo E8400 2 x 3.00GHz; Geforce 8500 GT (512 Mb); 4 GB DDR2; Onboard sound.
philo
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 15
Topics: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:57 am

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby Mr. Fahrenheit » Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:10 am

I will check that out, thanks very much.
Mr. Fahrenheit
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 26
Topics: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:06 am

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby pheonixstorm » Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:01 pm

This issue has been fixed (or appears to be) as of r13218
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: [Beta/SVN] Windows: mouse unavailable when task switchin

Postby philo » Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:34 am

pheonixstorm wrote:This issue has been fixed (or appears to be) as of r13218


Yes, it has indeed. Thanks heaps!

ps:
I'll try to add a [Solved] marker to the OP thread title, but I know the new subject title may not show up in the thread listview unless specified via the moderator control panel.
___________________
Main system: Core 2 Duo E8400 2 x 3.00GHz; Geforce 8500 GT (512 Mb); 4 GB DDR2; Onboard sound.
philo
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 15
Topics: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:57 am



Return to Bug Triage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron