Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!

Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby shenle » Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:50 pm

I had noticed it for some time, and it persists in the latest svn... When starting a new campaign the starter ship (llama.begin) is different in capabilities depending on whether you're in Windows or Linux. For that matter, the thruster max speed is different (240 in Windows, 300 in Linux). I haven't done a formal comparison of all the specs, but this is an obvious difference.
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
 
Posts: 381
Topics: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: hiding in a dark corner

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby pheonixstorm » Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:53 pm

I haven't noticed that on my win builds. My llama always starts with 300 max speed. Can you zip up a copy of your units.csv from your win build and attach?
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1567
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby shenle » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:57 am

I'll do it tonight when I get home. I do have a copy of the svn here with me but I don't know how it behaves (it's on the laptop with win7/64 on which no binaries run). FWIW, in this version which was checked out on 12/15 the llama.begin has an Afterburner_Speed_Governor and a Default_Speed_Governor of 120.
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
 
Posts: 381
Topics: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: hiding in a dark corner

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby shenle » Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:10 pm

Sorry I got things mixed up - it's in Linux that I get 240, and 300 in Windows.

Regardless, here's the units.csv from the installation where I get 240 (in Ubuntu).
Attachments
units.csv.gz
(74.41 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
 
Posts: 381
Topics: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: hiding in a dark corner

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby shenle » Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:19 pm

And here's the units.csv from the Windows installation where max speed is 300.

Oops, I can't attach any files. It says "Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached" - whatever that means.

I'm putting it on megaupload instead http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IS9IS0QD
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
 
Posts: 381
Topics: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: hiding in a dark corner

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby klauss » Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:42 am

It means you have to go to your profile and start deleting old attachments you no longer care about ;)
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby shenle » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:06 pm

so is the board limit set for 58 attachments? That's a curious number.
make me a sandwich
make: *** No rule to make target 'me'. Stop.
shenle
Confed Special Operative
Confed Special Operative
 
Posts: 381
Topics: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: hiding in a dark corner

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby klauss » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:12 pm

It's not a limit on the number of attachments, but their size.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: Starter ship has different specs in Windows vs. Linux

Postby SCghst1 » Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:00 am

try checking your Setup.exe file and see if the Gameplay is selected at Relaxing or Moderate on both. I know in VS 5.0 Moderate setting would change the speed of ships to make it go by faster and make it a much more faster style of game rather than slower moving speeds. This was on my old WinXP machine
~VS Forever~
User avatar
SCghst1
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 60
Topics: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:36 pm



Return to Bug Triage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron