tractor beam troubles + aera fly confed craft

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!
Post Reply
captnemo
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:34 pm

tractor beam troubles + aera fly confed craft

Post by captnemo »

I have been blowing up aera bases in the ross 34f system near goddard in the epsilon sector useing yesterdays cvs, and I have noticed a few bugs. First, collisions are much more common than in .39x, I cannot pull out of a confed fighter base in my avenger without hull damage, even if I dont come close to the walls. When tractoring objects, even after hitting home, setting velocity to zero, haveing plenty of cargo room, etc, most of the time when the beam pulls the cargo to me, I just collide with it, instead of getting it into the cargo bay. this is rather annoying and prevents me from fully profiting from my raids. This can happen with any cargo, regardless of size, on an empty cargo bay,.
Second, if you blow up enough aera bases in the ross 34f system without stopping, you will encounter an aera avenger. This seems very wrong. Even if the aera captured an avenger, it should be in their home system being analyzed by their intel service.
captnemo
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:34 pm

Post by captnemo »

I have found a workaround for the tractor beam bug that seems to work. In weapon_list.xml change the phase damage for the tractor beem from 2400 to 4800. This will cause the cargo to be logged into the cargo bay at a greater distance, before it has a chance to collidewith the ship and fly off into space. I suspect that this bug is just a symptom of some problem in the collision detection code, but this will work for now.
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

hmm well right now I elongate your ship for collisions at higher speeds....otherwise your ship will go right through stuff
could this somehow be a symptom of that? what speed do you generally travel out of the launch bay at
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

if you have the source and want to help us try to debug it
edit line
31 of src/cmd/collide.cpp

change

if (un->rSize()*un->rSize()>SIMULATION_ATOM*SIMULATION_ATOM*speedsquared) {

to
if (1) {

tell me if your collide woes go away--personally I haven't had issues...but if this fixes it then it is some new problem that wasn't there before
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

even if you don't have access to the source...could you test it with an avenger that's been stripped of its turrets? :-)
I think the way turrets collide has changed in the new release and this may be causing the issue

do you have trouble with ships that do not have turrets?
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

try adding a variable to vegastrike.config in the physics section (made sure not the first few--those are commented out)
<var name="smallest_subunit_to_collide" value="50"/>


maybe that'll improve the problem

but the truth of the matter is that the avenger is just so close to the docking bay that it's inevitable that it jitters a bit and hits the wall...
the engine is not very accurate with your location and WSINWG (what you see is not what you get)
the bottom line is "park in places that have bigger docking bays or take smaller ships in those places that don't"
:-)
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Guest

Post by Guest »

thanks, I have been compiling from source, and i will try that fix
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

actually I gave it a try...ignore the if(1) fix and try the vegastrike.config fix

also recompile from source

it takes 24 hours for my checkins to migrate to anonymous checkouts--but tomorrow you should have FAR fewer issues :-)even if you dont' change the vegastrike.config physics section
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Post Reply