Ship speeds

Find any bugs in Vega Strike? See if someone has already found it, or report them here!
Post Reply
Luke Hall
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:07 pm

Ship speeds

Post by Luke Hall »

I have found that sometimes after installing from SVN on linux 64bit that the ship speeds are double or half what they should be, has anyone else had this problem/have a solution?
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

Thx Luke since i run a 32 bit system i have not seen this :wink: but there are quite a few who do run 64 bit so hopefully someone has seen this and we can nail down why it is happening several of the developers run 64 bit as well but if they seen it it got fixed :wink: in that instance.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
safemode
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by safemode »

I run in 64 bit. the fact that a system is 64bit or 32bit wont effect simple math like + - / *. All it effects is the size of pointers and in linux's case, the size of a "long". And by size, i mean the absolute memory used to store such a thing, and thus the limit it can hold. If it works in 32bit, it'll work in 64bit unless we're using bit shifts to do our multiplication and division and we're overrunning the 32bit boundary.. Which i dont think we are, since that would likely cause issues in 32bit land too.


If you're seeing double or half speeds, either your data4.x dir is corrupt in some way or when you compiled it you used some non-standard optimization and that has corrupted things.

Compiling VS with anything but -O2 or -O1 or -O0 is done at your own risk of random behavior.
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

Thinking about this over night i have a feeling that there may be a confusion regarding the units that the HUD reports the 0.4.3 stable version and the descriptions report in km/hr while the svn's HUD reports in meters/sec but the descriptions have not been changed so that may be the source of the difference you see.I find m/sec more useful in game.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
Luke Hall
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:07 pm

Post by Luke Hall »

I have not passed any options on compiling, just:
./bootstrap-sh
./configure --enable-debug --with-data-dir=/home/luke/VegaStrike/data4.x
make
sudo make install

This is not the first time this has happened, usually everything flies at 2x speed, when I reported the problem everything was at 1/2, I downloaded it again and this time the starting ship is capable of 300 rather than the 120 i thought it should be.
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5841
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

If you check the svn log i think you will see that the speeds for the start ship where tweaked :wink:

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
Luke Hall
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:07 pm

Post by Luke Hall »

but then why was the same ship flying at 60 last compile (last night), now 300 this time?

and teslas now move at 250...
safemode
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by safemode »

make sure you update data4.x when you update the vs tree unless you know for certain no changes have been made.

300 is the real speed for the llama.
i dont know why you were stuck at 60 before. maybe you hit the wrong key, maybe you had damage.. maybe you didn't update data4.x ....whatever the case, the speed is set by the files in data4.x not in the compiled code for VS.
Post Reply