can I help?

Discuss the Babylon 5 mod(s) for the Vega Strike Engine

Moderator: etheral walker

can I help?

Postby tonerman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:01 am

I love B5.... and know the show decently well... (I own seaons 1 and 2 and the movies.. (not rangers...))

I'm a beginner c++ programmer and PERL
I'm just starting to learn how to use wings3D

in other words.. I don't have ALOT of skills.. but what I got is growing, and I would LOVE to see a B5 mod for Vegastrike.. if this porject still lives..
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby hellcatv » Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:26 am

THat would be awesome...I think the first step is picking a small subset of the ships...then making a central repository then editing the units stats table (well creating one first) to make the physics feel right...start with just a few favorites... like that X-wing sort of ship and a few vorlons or whatever :-)
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby tonerman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:33 am

stats table... hmmm... I think I need to read up more on making ships in vegastrike...
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby hellcatv » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:39 am

it's actually not so bad... what you can do is take the latest vegastrike cvs and start changing ships one by one till they're how you like
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby hellcatv » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:45 am

the file in question is units/units.csv

can be edited in Open Office or even Microsoft Excel
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby tonerman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:51 am

oh.. score...

I'll wait to hear if my help is wanted and stuff before I do anythng.. (and the fact it's 2am here... and there.. *waves from lower in the bay area...* HI! :) :P
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby tonerman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:59 am

I noticed units.csv isn't in version 4.1D.... but the CVS data I got has it... new feature?
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby hellcatv » Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:09 am

yes...very new

in the old one you had to edit each fighter by itself

now you can edit whole columns at once--which makes mod making fun
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby tonerman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:46 am

however, based on first glance... I could see some possible advantages to seperate docs... cause when the file gets large... it is a bit easy to not find something... I wonder if it could be alphabetized....
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby dandandaman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 5:51 am

it's a spreadsheet, just sort the rows based on the name :-)

Dan.a
"Computers are useless. They can only give you answers."
-- Pablo Picasso
dandandaman
Artisan
Artisan
 
Posts: 1270
Topics: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:27 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby tonerman » Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:10 pm

Yeah.. I realized that right before I went to bed last night..hehe
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby hellcatv » Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:23 pm

it's fun to freeze frames.... click on the second to top left (that's B2...I sunk your battleship!)
then go to Freeze Frames in the Window or View menu :-)

and voilla...you can see the keys
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby tonerman » Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:33 pm

Is there a description of what all the columns are somewhere? Some I can guess.. or back engineer... but many confuse me.. and/or I have no point of reference for... (ie.. scale? and stuff like that..)
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby hellcatv » Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:11 pm

making a listing would be helpful... the second listing is supposed to contain the units of measure for the column--course ti's not always clear--just post here for questions...mabye you can add it to the wiki
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby tonerman » Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:13 pm

if I know what everything was.. I could in theory.. make a perl or c++ program to act as an editor.. just input the values and pick from lists.. and stuff... and it writes the file.. since it's just a comma seperated file.... that's easy to do with perl.. (though I never did play with writing to files with perl... )

but perl would proly be better for this than c++... hmmm.... than again... I like structs...and arrays of structs.. maybe I just need to read more.... (tries to remember his perl).. and I need to remember how to work with perl... been using to much c++ not enough perl...

hmmm.... this would proly need a user interface... tk.... I've not really played with tk much... cgi yes.. but not tk.. (I made a banking program for a government simulation out of cgi...)

if I could make such a script.. maybe it could generate some of the values for me... (if applicable.. I don't know if it is...)
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby Ari Rahikkala » Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:57 am

tonerman wrote:but perl would proly be better for this than c++... hmmm.... than again... I like structs...and arrays of structs.. maybe I just need to read more.... (tries to remember his perl).. and I need to remember how to work with perl... been using to much c++ not enough perl...


The perldsc and perllol manpages might be useful ;)
Ari Rahikkala
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 141
Topics: 5
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:12 am
Location: Kärsämäki, Finland

Postby tonerman » Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:11 am

I got the O'Riely book Perl/Tk .... which is useful.. plus I just installed the newest Perl distro and Perl/Tk distro...
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby pontiac » Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:25 pm

When programming and lerning perl I recommend the O'Reilly Perl bookshelf:
http://kaste.lv/OreilltyBookshelf/perl/

Pontiac
User avatar
pontiac
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1454
Topics: 93
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:24 am
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Postby tonerman » Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:36 pm

I have the following on hand..

Learning Perl
Programming Perl (3rd eddition)
Perl/Tk (laerning I think.. might be programming, and I can get at the "mastering..." book took...)

I also got a couple other books.. like.. Tcl/Tk if I want it.. wrong language.. but my dad says the basics are the same..

I've decided to just put this off for a while... while I learn Perl/Tk a bit more... and figure out the units.csv file.. I'll proly post a working list of the columns and what they are for somewhere so others can see it.. and people can help me fill in my gaps.. and I think someone said something about making a wikipage... (if I can disern the columns, i'de be happy to do that..)
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby tonerman » Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:37 pm

Oh.. and where is Ethereal Walker (sp?) I was hoping to hear from him... see if this project is even alive....
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby etheral walker » Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:34 pm

still here ;) I'm not at home very often, but I will have more time next month. When I see when I began this mod I think I should urge me a bit, I know ;). For now I need 2d bases interiors, maybe 1 or 2 more cubemaps for space backgrounds, and still a python programmer.
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths

Postby hellcatv » Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:20 am

ewalker: have you sent me that luddite fighter yet?
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
User avatar
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 3980
Topics: 86
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

Postby tonerman » Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:08 pm

Base interiors... I have the Babylon 5 season 1&2 and Movies DVD.. maybe I can get something resembling video capture functioning on this box... (I have a tunercard.. which.. SHOULD be able to do videocapture..) maybe I can get some interior shots taken right from the show... (or I could google..hehe maybe someone has done it already...)
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby tonerman » Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:14 pm

http://www.b5tech.com/

just for my own reference..

is there a CVS server or anything where I could find the meshes and stuff?
Have you seen my repair droid?
tonerman
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 40
Topics: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Postby etheral walker » Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:53 am

not for now but I should set something on sourceforge, it's near playable for now... Didn't did any meshes since last posts, I'm wasting many hours trying to understand linux on my amd 64 box
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths


Next

Return to Babylon 5 Universe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron