playable ships?

Discuss the Babylon 5 mod(s) for the Vega Strike Engine

Moderator: etheral walker

playable ships?

Postby Fart_Plume » Sat Nov 06, 2004 5:36 pm

are you going to have the vorlon and shawdow ships playable?
System Gigabyte x48-dq6, q600 oc'd 3.6ghz, 4gb ocz reapers,BFG 8800gts 512mb oc, pcp&c 750 quad psu, 2 seagate 7200.1 sata hds in mirror raid. Watercooled.
Fart_Plume
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 50
Topics: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:05 am

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby etheral walker » Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:50 pm

yes, I'm working on their cockpits ;)
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths

Postby Guest » Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:13 pm

I must admit i am curious as to how you will visualize the vorlon cockpits! The show never showed just how the vorlons used their ships, seeing as they were living. Heck the vorlons could have just floated about in an energy state while their ships did all the work. I look forward to seeing how you have it set up =)
Guest
 

Postby Tain » Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:17 pm

Argh wasn't logged in, that was me!
Tain
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 14
Topics: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:02 pm

Postby etheral walker » Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:50 pm

a black organic thing with a gaseous glass. Try to imagine you are IN the eye of Sauron and you see trough it
http://www.daereth.diallink.net/movies/sauron.htm
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths

Postby Tain » Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:51 am

Sounds great! I was hoping for something unconventional for the first one ships, sounds like you are going to do just that =)
Tain
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 14
Topics: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:02 pm

Postby etheral walker » Tue Jan 18, 2005 5:54 pm

yep, the last "design decision" I need to take is for the "cockpits" of capital ships. I did some tries with starwars like bridges, like this one, http://scifi3d.theforce.net/details.asp ... =8&key=302
but visibility is definitely too little, and vegastrike radar is definitely not good enough to allow the player driving a blind ship
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths

Postby etheral walker » Tue Jan 18, 2005 6:00 pm

Maybe the bridge commander way will be the good, like that:
http://www.3dactionplanet.com/bridgecom ... /bc127.jpg
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths

Postby etheral walker » Tue Jan 18, 2005 6:08 pm

yes, it seems bridge commander way is not too bad, this screen seems perfect
http://www.3dactionplanet.com/bridgecom ... ns/004.jpg
I see dead polygons....
User avatar
etheral walker
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1516
Topics: 123
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 10:26 am
Location: into the depths

Postby Tain » Thu Mar 10, 2005 1:58 am

I would think bridge commander style bridges would be a bit over the top poly wise. Also, would the VS engine support the tech required to have crew characters visible, not to mention animate them? May be too much for the engine at present. (not to mention a ton of extra work)
Tain
Explorer
Explorer
 
Posts: 14
Topics: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:02 pm



Return to Babylon 5 Universe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests