How do you make a Federation (star trek) texture?

Discuss the Star Trek mod(s) for the Vega Strike Engine

Moderators: tillias, Jennos, peteyg

Jack Cloudy
Explorer
Explorer

How do you make a Federation (star trek) texture?

Post by Jack Cloudy »

Hope the title was good enough and I placed it at the right place. I have made a Federation ship for this story I'm trying to write. Problem is, Federation ships always had this lovely detailed textures and I am a plain idiot when it comes down to that. Here's a picture of the ship, and as you can see, whatever I allready did texture looks crap. So, does anybody have any tips on how to make a more star trekkish texture? Thank you.
Oh yeah, in case you are wondering, the ship isn't exactly 100% Federation, it is a hybrid.

,,That was the worst and most boring movie I’ve ever seen. Lousy special effects.
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite

Post by chuck_starchaser »

I'm a rank beginner at texturing, but I'd think that for startrek ships you'd want a brushed metal base look, and lots of windows. I've only textured one ship, but I can tell you, if you're not using it already, Gimp is the way to go. You can make a brushed metal base by starting with a grey texture, adding a bit of noise, and using motion blur. Then you can create a separate texture with a white background and all the windows in black and you blend it with the first texture in multiply mode, so now you have brushed metal with black windows. Next you can create yet another texture with random, diffuse blobs of white, yellow, orange and red colors, to use for internal lights. You take your white and black texture again, invert it so that background is black and windows are white, and you blend it with the internal lights texture, again, multiplicatively. So now you'll have a texture mostly black but with windows of random colors. You can use this texture as your basis for the glow texture; you might want to darken the windows quite a bit, and add bright external ligh