starting location of the game

This is the location for all mods to collaborate. Anyone making or planning their own mod should post help requests, screen shots and news here.

Moderators: Omega, tillias, Mod Contributor

starting location of the game

Postby legine » Fri Oct 05, 2007 11:25 am

I think I read something about this somewhere, but cant find it again. :(
Searched Forums and Wikki.

Where can I set the starting base in a new game?

ty
Peter
legine
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 139
Topics: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Germany

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Postby ace123 » Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:22 pm

Your starting base will be specified in your New_Game saved game file... It's a bit cryptic since it uses the hexidecomal ASCII values...

The easiest way is to save a game in the exact state you want it in, then browse to the .vegastrike/save (or if you are playing a mod, it will be .vegastrike/mods/modname/save)
Then, find the saved game, copy it into the your new data folder, and rename it to "New_Game"

After that, once you start a new game, it will find your saved game.
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
 
Posts: 2560
Topics: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA

Postby legine » Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am

Sry for beeing slow...

That is a way complicated. I did not express what I realy want. My fault :).

If I want to test my build base, I need to put it in the base folder, start the game and fly there?
Hows that working?

Maybe easiest way would be to setup an own Univers consisting of one System only my base as only object in there. But then how do I set the starting point? I dont think I can just fire up the game and save a copy, can I? ;)
ty for the help! :D

Cheers
Peter
legine
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 139
Topics: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Germany

Postby ace123 » Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:45 pm

Ah.

In my opinion, the easiest way is to take the python file for the base you are docked at (say, ocean.py), and rename it tosomething else, say "ocean.py.bak".

Then, make a new version of ocean.py that has your new base instead.

What base is it? If you have already made it and put it in the game then you can go directly, but I recommend the ocean.py trick to test making a python base as it will be much faster.

Also, you may be able to undock and dock again to get updated python changes.
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
 
Posts: 2560
Topics: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA

Postby legine » Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:24 am

For testing this is sufficent.
When I start to make the map dynamic this topic will come up again, but that can wait. Basics first !

Thanks.

Peter
legine
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
 
Posts: 139
Topics: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Germany



Return to General Modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron