system without any stars

This is the location for all mods to collaborate. Anyone making or planning their own mod should post help requests, screen shots and news here.

Moderators: Omega, tillias, Mod Contributor

Post Reply
dagg
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:53 am

system without any stars

Post by dagg »

using the hand made xml system, is it possible to make a system without any stars in it?
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Re: system without any stars

Post by ace123 »

One simple way is to set all systems in universe/milky_way.xml to have luminosity = 0.

There should also be a configuration option to change whether any stars are drawn but that might require hunting through some code to find out what it is.

Edit: which type of stars do you mean? I think the spacedust types of dots that fly past you are drawn using a different system and those you can turn off by a configuration option. These used to be options in the header of the ".system" files.
dagg
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:53 am

Re: system without any stars

Post by dagg »

in startrek universe, there are starbases, outposts, polsars and etc, which aren't in a system, question is can I do this:

Code: Select all

<system name="Andor" background="backgrounds/blue" nearstars="1" stars="1" starspread="1"  x="0" y="0" z="0" scalesystem="1">

        <Light>
                <ambient red=".03" green="0.03" blue="0.03"/>
                <diffuse  red="1" green="1" blue="1"/>
                <specular  red="1" green="1" blue="1"/>
        </Light>

        <unit name= "Starbase" file="Fbase" ri="9.8e6" rj="0" rk="0" sk="9.8e6" sj="0" si="" year="240000.0" position="0.3" faction="federation"></unit>
</system>
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Re: system without any stars

Post by ace123 »

I think that should work.

Beware that it may not be bright enough to see anything without a star nearby (which makes sense), but otherwise it should be fine with just a single unit in the system.

If you need it to be brighter, you can probably make a few stars in the system that are just several light years away.

EDIT: You cannot use ri, rj, rk and si, sj, sk except for orbiting units. Those correspond to the two axes of the elliptical orbit. If you need an absolutely positioned unit, you must use x="0" y="0" z="0" (may as well be in the center of the 'system')
dagg
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:53 am

Re: system without any stars

Post by dagg »

what do you mean by bright? is it connected to this: http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/forum ... =2&t=14686 ?
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Re: system without any stars

Post by ace123 »

no, I mean the lighting on the meshes themselves. It's a bit tricky if you don't have a background working, but you should at least be able to get it to display a black background by taking out the background="" tag.
Post Reply