Very low frame rate

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.
Tangerine
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console

Very low frame rate

Post by Tangerine »

Hi!
I have a strange problem with frame rate. Most of the time I have about 100 fps, but sometimes, mostly when I look at the wireframe jump points (but not always), my frame rate drops immediately to 1 fps ant the game becomes totally unplayable. I tried changing detail settings in vssetup, but it didn't help. :(
I am using RedHat Linux 9 with 2.4.24 kernel (but I have Linux for less than two weeks, so I'm a total newbie!)
I have AMD 2500+, 256 MB RAM and Radeon 9200 SE.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Post by pontiac »

Tangerine wrote:Hi!
I have a strange problem with frame rate. Most of the time I have about 100 fps, but sometimes, mostly when I look at the wireframe jump points (but not always)
Does it happen when just looking at the jumppoint or when activating the jump drive?

Pontiac
Tangerine

Post by Tangerine »

It happened when just looking at the jump point. Sometimes it happened when looking at something else such as a space station or even some point in space. Most of the time it helped when I docked somewhere and then returned back to space, but it was difficult to dock with 1 fps.
I disabled Per Pixel Lighting and it seems to be OK now, but I didn't have much time to check it.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Post by pontiac »

Tangerine wrote:It happened when just looking at the jump point. Sometimes it happened when looking at something else such as a space station or even some point in space. Most of the time it helped when I docked somewhere and then returned back to space, but it was difficult to dock with 1 fps.