0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby TBeholder » Thu May 02, 2013 7:18 pm

gonzo wrote:There is a .deb now at Playdeb for Ubuntu 12.04
http://www.playdeb.net/updates/ubuntu/12.04/?q=vegastrike
Permalink: http://www.playdeb.net/software/Vega%20Strike
gonzo wrote:playdeb has been discontinued... :(
It's a part of GetDeb either way. Which is somewhat unstable lately, so it's best used via mirrors, then you don't get errors from updater/synaptic half of the time.
"Two Eyes Good, Eleven Eyes Better." -Michele Carter
User avatar
TBeholder
Elite Venturer
Elite Venturer
 
Posts: 732
Topics: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:40 pm
Location: chthonic safety

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby klauss » Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:33 pm

Added debian 7.0 repo in case anyone's interested
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby klauss » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:26 pm

Package for Ubuntu 13.04 just fresh out the assembly line. Check the OP for a repo link.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7243
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby Deus Siddis » Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:00 pm

It seems mesher didn't ship with the windows version.

Can I download mesher.exe separately from somewhere?
Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1362
Topics: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:42 am

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby loki1950 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:14 pm

You can do it directly from the svn repo it should be in the bin folder.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5706
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby Deus Siddis » Sun Aug 11, 2013 12:32 pm

Thanks. For some reason I assumed only the mesher source was stored in the repository. :)
Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1362
Topics: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:42 am

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby ezee » Sat Feb 15, 2014 2:59 am

Hi !
I'm stuck with the vega-vc9 solution from svn :
http://sourceforge.net/p/vegastrike/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/vega-vc9/

I have a problem with Boost that i can't understand :
In a lot of headers files , there is such includes :
Code: Select all
#include <boost/smart_ptr.hpp>
#include <boost/enable_shared_from_this.hpp>


But in the vega-vc9 folder , there is no Boost .
I have found a version of boost in vegastrike-src-0.5.1.r1 , but the
files are .h and not .hpp

My outpot log
Code: Select all
1>------ Rebuild All started: Project: Vegastrike, Configuration: Release Win32 ------
1>Deleting intermediate and output files for project 'Vegastrike', configuration 'Release|Win32'
1>Compiling...
1>viewarea.cpp
1>track.cpp
1>d:\program\vegasdk0.5.1r1\vegastrike\src\audio/Types.h(7) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'boost/smart_ptr.hpp': No such file or directory
1>sphere_display.cpp
1>d:\program\vegasdk0.5.1r1\vegastrike\src\faction_generic.h(5) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'boost/shared_ptr.hpp': No such file or directory
1>sensor.cpp
1>d:\program\vegasdk0.5.1r1\vegastrike\src\faction_generic.h(5) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'boost/shared_ptr.hpp': No such file or directory
1>radar.cpp
1>d:\program\vegasdk0.5.1r1\vegastrike\src\gfx\radar\dual_display.h(6) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'boost/random.hpp': No such file or directory
1>plane_display.cpp
1>..\..\vegastrike\src\gfx\radar\plane_display.cpp(6) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'boost/assign/std/vector.hpp': No such file or directory
1>dual_display.cpp
etc ...
etc ...


I'm tired to tweak , please help ?
( yeah I use Visual Studio 2008 )
:?

EDIT : I solved that by mooving Boost to ...\
Was just a path failure ....
Code: Select all
 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }

Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
 
Posts: 703
Topics: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby Blaargh » Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:46 pm

I've been wondering if this project is considered "dead" or not... Been playing quite a bit of this game and enjoying it. Would like to hear back from you!
Blaargh
Atmospheric Pilot
Atmospheric Pilot
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby ezee » Sat Apr 19, 2014 3:07 pm

Blaargh wrote:I've been wondering if this project is considered "dead" or not... Been playing quite a bit of this game and enjoying it. Would like to hear back from you!


ah ah ah !
Good question .
Someone said one day "Follow Me, and let the dead bury their dead.”
So if your question is : " Someone is still alive here ? " , i let you decide if i'm dead or not .
:wink:
Code: Select all
 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }

Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
 
Posts: 703
Topics: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby Coraxus » Thu May 22, 2014 11:01 am

Gravedigging perhaps, buuuuuut... When's the Mac OS X version coming out?
Coraxus
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 32
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:46 pm

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby loki1950 » Thu May 22, 2014 2:59 pm

When we have someone who can build it :( unfortunately we have no one that has a MAC on the team ATM there is an version of 0.5.0 on the download page but it`s for OSX 10.2 so no joy.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5706
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby ezee » Thu May 22, 2014 7:47 pm

Gravedigging perhaps, buuuuuut...

A little cup of offtopic or no ? eh eh
Survival mode -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p963CeTtJVM

So much troubles in the code ...
But we are the survivors
:wink:

unfortunately we have no one that has a MAC on the team

Uh ? Klauss is using a mac no ?
Code: Select all
 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }

Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
 
Posts: 703
Topics: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby loki1950 » Fri May 23, 2014 2:17 am

Klauss prefers openSUSE just an other Linux flavour :mrgreen: while I am dual booting Win7 and fedora 20 ATM while pheonixstorm is our Windows mavin 8)

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5706
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby Coraxus » Fri May 23, 2014 9:36 pm

loki1950 wrote:When we have someone who can build it :( unfortunately we have no one that has a MAC on the team ATM there is an version of 0.5.0 on the download page but it`s for OSX 10.2 so no joy.

Enjoy the Choice :)

Then that begs the question: Who and what happened to the one(s) that ported for the Mac that allowed us to play the 0.5.0 version?
Coraxus
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 32
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:46 pm

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby loki1950 » Fri May 23, 2014 10:56 pm

Like every other FOSS project they got a life :wink: We have never been a large community and attracting new devs is always difficult for small groups so we plug along as best we can bug squashing as we go if you use a OSX we could walk you though the build process it is not trivial on a MAC if you are not familiar with OSX's structure but since none of us has a MAC it would be hard as we would be working from generalities.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5706
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby Coraxus » Fri May 23, 2014 11:01 pm

Hmm, so that's the current status. I probably would like to compile the codes, but my left brain isn't strong enough to have a natural talent to read codes and scripts. It would hurt in the process as codes would read Greek to me. >.<
Coraxus
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 32
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:46 pm

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby loki1950 » Sat May 24, 2014 9:41 am

Yeah it can be a painful experience if you are right brain dominate :?

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and DELL E6400 4GB ram/100 GB HD Mint 17.3 6
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5706
Topics: 51
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby jackS » Thu May 29, 2014 1:00 pm

loki1950 wrote:Like every other FOSS project they got a life :wink:


See, that depends on whether you count where we're all working now as having a life ;-) I think I'm contractually obligated to not have one of those until after tenure. However, having seen the view from where our fearless founder HellcatV now works, I think he probably qualifies as having one (but I may be biased -- not everyone would appreciate working within throwing distance of a baseball stadium).

I'm mostly surprised that I don't know of any former VS devs who ended up at Google (mostly because a very large fraction of the people I've worked alongside over the last decade have ended up there one way or another).
User avatar
jackS
Minister of Information
Minister of Information
 
Posts: 1895
Topics: 56
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 2:40 pm
Location: The center of Centre county

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby -DanR- » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:12 pm

Very confused.

*Still* playing and modding Gemini Gold in 2015 :)

...but would like to try out PU. However, this thread says that the Windows version


However when I go to the download area there are dozen of zipped files. I'm sorry to be so n00bish and ask for everything on a platter, but where do I start if I'm playing PU from scratch? I can't find this info in the forum.

Thanks in advance.
Never rush a Jalthi head on.
User avatar
-DanR-
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 27
Topics: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:06 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby ezee » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:09 pm

Hi.
If i was you , i would use VS Setup 0.5.1 r1.exe
But i don't know if that version has the music bug ( no music ) or not .

And be aware i am working in a project based upon it , called vegastrike evolved .
More details on that thread :
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=26473&p=144611#p144611
Code: Select all
 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }

Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
 
Posts: 703
Topics: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby -DanR- » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:35 pm

ezee wrote:Hi.
If i was you , i would use VS Setup 0.5.1 r1.exe
But i don't know if that version has the music bug ( no music ) or not .

And be aware i am working in a project based upon it , called vegastrike evolved .
More details on that thread :
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=26473&p=144611#p144611


Thank you.

As it happens, I'm very stupid. I was looking to play Wing Commander Parallel Universe, but posted in the wrong thread.

It looks like the project I'm after is dead and unavailable online.
Never rush a Jalthi head on.
User avatar
-DanR-
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 27
Topics: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:06 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby ezee » Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:17 pm

As it happens, I'm very stupid.

:lol:

And :
Windows:

Priv:WCU does not currently run under Windows. Last I checked, the VegaStrike development binaries for Windows did not work with the Priv:WCU code base.


source at github for linux :
https://github.com/ermo/privateer_wcu
Code: Select all
 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }

Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
 
Posts: 703
Topics: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby -DanR- » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:54 pm

ezee wrote:
As it happens, I'm very stupid.

:lol:

And :
Windows:

Priv:WCU does not currently run under Windows. Last I checked, the VegaStrike development binaries for Windows did not work with the Priv:WCU code base.


source at github for linux :
https://github.com/ermo/privateer_wcu


I decided to play Vegastrike 0.5.1 anyway to see if I liked it. It's a lot different to the Privateer/Wing Commander Vegastrike games, but it's fun. A lot to learn.

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, does anybody know how to make space 'busier' - i.e. more ships around. I don't mean adding Units, I just mean, is it possible to add traffic. Space seems a little empty at times.
Never rush a Jalthi head on.
User avatar
-DanR-
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 27
Topics: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:06 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby ezee » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:12 pm

I decided to play Vegastrike 0.5.1 anyway to see if I liked it

:wink:

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, does anybody know how to make space 'busier' - i.e. more ships around. I don't mean adding Units, I just mean, is it possible to add traffic. Space seems a little empty at times.


good question !
It's possible , but i'm not sure there is a simple way to make it ( like tweak the vegastrike.config ) .
But that kind of stuff is driven by the python scripts , located in Data/Modules .
The number of flightgroups can also be tweaked in the missions files .

So ... yeah , it is possible AND a thing i will have to deal with too in my VSEvolved project
:wink:

EDIt :

If you are familiar with python coding , just look for exemple in generate_dyn_universe.py, with for example that sample of code :
Code: Select all
vdef GenerateCivilianFgShips (faction,factionnr,docapships):
    lst=[]
    capitals=faction_ships.capitals[factionnr]
    fighters=faction_ships.fighters[factionnr]   
    numfighters=1
    try:
      numfighters=faction_ships.fightersPerFG["default"]
      numfighters=faction_ships.fightersPerFG[faction]
    except:
      pass
    numcapitals=0
    if docapships:
      try:
        numcapitals=faction_ships.fightersPerFG["default"]
        numcapitals=faction_ships.PerFG[faction]
      except:
        pass
    fighters_per=len(fighters)
    ht={}
    for i in fighters:
       numtogen=floatToRand(numfighters/float(len(fighters)))
       if numtogen:
         if i in ht:
           ht[i]+=numtogen
         else:
           ht[i]=numtogen
    for i in capitals:
       numtogen=floatToRand(numcapitals/float(len(capitals)))
       if numtogen>0:
         if i in ht:
           ht[i]+=numtogen
         else:
           ht[i]=numtogen
    for hv in ht:
        lst.append([hv,ht[hv]])
    return lst


Edit2 : I think i've located the critical zone of code to tweak the population in the universe , in the same python module :
Code: Select all
def AddSysDict (cursys):
    global _generatedsys, _last_progress_percent
    #pick random fighter from insysenemies with .3 probability OR pick one from the friendlies list.
#       debug.debug('Addsysdict')
    sysfaction=VS.GetGalaxyFaction(cursys)

    numflightgroups = 1+vsrandom.randrange(fg_util.MinNumFlightgroupsInSystem(cursys)-1,fg_util.MaxNumFlightgroupsInSystem(cursys))
   
    #debug.debug("Initializing system %s with %d flightgroups... " % (cursys,numflightgroups))
    progress_percent = (float(_generatedsys) / getSystemCount())
    if progress_percent - _last_progress_percent > 0.01:
        ShowProgress.setProgressBar("loading",progress_percent)
        ShowProgress.setProgressMessage("loading","Generating dynamic universe (%.2f%%)" % (100*progress_percent))
        _last_progress_percent = progress_percent
    _generatedsys += 1

    global fgnames, fglists
    i=0
    AddBasesToSystem(sysfaction, cursys)
    adjsystems=getAdjacentSystemList(cursys)
    for i in xrange(len(faction_ships.factions)):
       thisfac=faction_ships.factions[i]
       thisfactionnr=faction_ships.factionToInt(thisfac)
       rel=VS.GetRelation(sysfaction,thisfac)
       iscit=VS.isCitizen(thisfac)
       if iscit and thisfac.find(sysfaction)!=-1:
          #debug.debug("generating spc civilian for "+cursys+" faction "+thisfac)
          #do somethign special for this military faction
          if thisfac==sysfaction:
              pass
          elif iscit:
              for neighbor in adjsystems:
                 if (VS.GetRelation(thisfac,VS.GetGalaxyFaction(neighbor))>-.05):
                   #fgname=cursys+"->"+neighbor
                   fgname="(CivReg) "+GetNewFGName(thisfac)
                   typenumbertuple=GenerateCivilianFgShips(thisfac,thisfactionnr,True)
                   fg_util.AddShipsToFG (fgname,thisfac,typenumbertuple,cursys)
              fgname="Insystem_"+cursys;
              typenumbertuple=GenerateCivilianFgShips(thisfac,thisfactionnr,False)
       if iscit:
          #debug.debug("generating gen civilian for "+cursys+" faction "+thisfac)
          if VS.GetRelation(thisfac,sysfaction)>-.05:#brave citizens of the new order...
             fgname=GetNewFGName(thisfac)
             typenumbertuple=GenerateCivilianFgShips(thisfac,thisfactionnr,True)
             fg_util.AddShipsToFG (fgname,thisfac,typenumbertuple,cursys)
    friendlychance=.7
    if cursys in faction_ships.fortress_systems:
        friendlychance=faction_ships.fortress_systems[cursys]
        #debug.debug('enemy chance for '+cursys +'= '+str(friendlychance))
    for i in xrange (numflightgroups): #number of fgs in a system.
        faction=sysfaction
        friendly=0
        if not sysfaction or sysfaction=='unknown' or vsrandom.random()>friendlychance:
            faction=faction_ships.get_rabble_of_no_citizen(sysfaction)#why even have citizens on the list then
        else:           
            faction=faction_ships.get_friend_of_no_citizen(sysfaction)#likewise--- maybe this should be a faction_ships fix
            if (faction==sysfaction):
                friendly=1
            if (sysfaction in faction_ships.production_centers):
                if (cursys in faction_ships.production_centers[sysfaction]):
                    friendly=2
            #if (friendly):
            #    debug.debug(faction+" "+sysfaction+" "+cursys)
        factionnr=faction_ships.factionToInt(faction)
        global maxshipsinfg
        typenumbertuple=GenerateFgShips(vsrandom.randrange(maxshipsinfg)+1,factionnr,friendly)
        fgname=GetNewFGName(faction)
        fg_util.AddShipsToFG (fgname,faction,typenumbertuple,cursys)
    return i


In the above code , have you seen :
for i in xrange (numflightgroups): #number of fgs in a system.

8)

Also in faction_ships.py you could tweak the number of flight groups by systems :
max_flightgroups={"Gemini/Troy":25,"Gemini/Penders_Star":15,"Gemini/Junction":12,"Crucible/Cephid_17":22}
min_flightgroups={"Gemini/Troy":22,"Gemini/Penders_Star":10,"Gemini/Junction":4,"Crucible/Cephid_17":22}


And sure there are many many other ways to achieve a better traffic .
( just check the random_encounters.py file :wink: )
My goal is to create a global traffic driven by a new AI , no more mission scripted only ...
:D
Code: Select all
 if (!track.HasWeapons())
            {
                // So what are you going to threaten me with? Exhaustion gas?
                return ThreatLevel::None;
            }

Vegastrike evolved
DEV YOUTUBE CHANNEL
Vegastrike evolved wiki
ezee
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
 
Posts: 703
Topics: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: 0.5.1.r1 release is Ready

Postby -DanR- » Thu Oct 08, 2015 1:26 pm

ezee wrote:
I decided to play Vegastrike 0.5.1 anyway to see if I liked it

:wink:

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this, does anybody know how to make space 'busier' - i.e. more ships around. I don't mean adding Units, I just mean, is it possible to add traffic. Space seems a little empty at times.


good question !
It's possible , but i'm not sure there is a simple way to make it ( like tweak the vegastrike.config ) .
But that kind of stuff is driven by the python scripts , located in Data/Modules .
The number of flightgroups can also be tweaked in the missions files .

So ... yeah , it is possible AND a thing i will have to deal with too in my VSEvolved project
:wink:

EDIt :

If you are familiar with python coding , just look for exemple in generate_dyn_universe.py, with for example that sample of code :
Code: Select all
vdef GenerateCivilianFgShips (faction,factionnr,docapships):
    lst=[]
    capitals=faction_ships.capitals[factionnr]
    fighters=faction_ships.fighters[factionnr]   
    numfighters=1
    try:
      numfighters=faction_ships.fightersPerFG["default"]
      numfighters=faction_ships.fightersPerFG[faction]
    except:
      pass
    numcapitals=0
    if docapships:
      try:
        numcapitals=faction_ships.fightersPerFG["default"]
        numcapitals=faction_ships.PerFG[faction]
      except:
        pass
    fighters_per=len(fighters)
    ht={}
    for i in fighters:
       numtogen=floatToRand(numfighters/float(len(fighters)))
       if numtogen:
         if i in ht:
           ht[i]+=numtogen
         else:
           ht[i]=numtogen
    for i in capitals:
       numtogen=floatToRand(numcapitals/float(len(capitals)))
       if numtogen>0:
         if i in ht:
           ht[i]+=numtogen
         else:
           ht[i]=numtogen
    for hv in ht:
        lst.append([hv,ht[hv]])
    return lst


Edit2 : I think i've located the critical zone of code to tweak the population in the universe , in the same python module :
Code: Select all
def AddSysDict (cursys):
    global _generatedsys, _last_progress_percent
    #pick random fighter from insysenemies with .3 probability OR pick one from the friendlies list.
#       debug.debug('Addsysdict')
    sysfaction=VS.GetGalaxyFaction(cursys)

    numflightgroups = 1+vsrandom.randrange(fg_util.MinNumFlightgroupsInSystem(cursys)-1,fg_util.MaxNumFlightgroupsInSystem(cursys))
   
    #debug.debug("Initializing system %s with %d flightgroups... " % (cursys,numflightgroups))
    progress_percent = (float(_generatedsys) / getSystemCount())
    if progress_percent - _last_progress_percent > 0.01:
        ShowProgress.setProgressBar("loading",progress_percent)
        ShowProgress.setProgressMessage("loading","Generating dynamic universe (%.2f%%)" % (100*progress_percent))
        _last_progress_percent = progress_percent
    _generatedsys += 1

    global fgnames, fglists
    i=0
    AddBasesToSystem(sysfaction, cursys)
    adjsystems=getAdjacentSystemList(cursys)
    for i in xrange(len(faction_ships.factions)):
       thisfac=faction_ships.factions[i]
       thisfactionnr=faction_ships.factionToInt(thisfac)
       rel=VS.GetRelation(sysfaction,thisfac)
       iscit=VS.isCitizen(thisfac)
       if iscit and thisfac.find(sysfaction)!=-1:
          #debug.debug("generating spc civilian for "+cursys+" faction "+thisfac)
          #do somethign special for this military faction
          if thisfac==sysfaction:
              pass
          elif iscit:
              for neighbor in adjsystems:
                 if (VS.GetRelation(thisfac,VS.GetGalaxyFaction(neighbor))>-.05):
                   #fgname=cursys+"->"+neighbor
                   fgname="(CivReg) "+GetNewFGName(thisfac)
                   typenumbertuple=GenerateCivilianFgShips(thisfac,thisfactionnr,True)
                   fg_util.AddShipsToFG (fgname,thisfac,typenumbertuple,cursys)
              fgname="Insystem_"+cursys;
              typenumbertuple=GenerateCivilianFgShips(thisfac,thisfactionnr,False)
       if iscit:
          #debug.debug("generating gen civilian for "+cursys+" faction "+thisfac)
          if VS.GetRelation(thisfac,sysfaction)>-.05:#brave citizens of the new order...
             fgname=GetNewFGName(thisfac)
             typenumbertuple=GenerateCivilianFgShips(thisfac,thisfactionnr,True)
             fg_util.AddShipsToFG (fgname,thisfac,typenumbertuple,cursys)
    friendlychance=.7
    if cursys in faction_ships.fortress_systems:
        friendlychance=faction_ships.fortress_systems[cursys]
        #debug.debug('enemy chance for '+cursys +'= '+str(friendlychance))
    for i in xrange (numflightgroups): #number of fgs in a system.
        faction=sysfaction
        friendly=0
        if not sysfaction or sysfaction=='unknown' or vsrandom.random()>friendlychance:
            faction=faction_ships.get_rabble_of_no_citizen(sysfaction)#why even have citizens on the list then
        else:           
            faction=faction_ships.get_friend_of_no_citizen(sysfaction)#likewise--- maybe this should be a faction_ships fix
            if (faction==sysfaction):
                friendly=1
            if (sysfaction in faction_ships.production_centers):
                if (cursys in faction_ships.production_centers[sysfaction]):
                    friendly=2
            #if (friendly):
            #    debug.debug(faction+" "+sysfaction+" "+cursys)
        factionnr=faction_ships.factionToInt(faction)
        global maxshipsinfg
        typenumbertuple=GenerateFgShips(vsrandom.randrange(maxshipsinfg)+1,factionnr,friendly)
        fgname=GetNewFGName(faction)
        fg_util.AddShipsToFG (fgname,faction,typenumbertuple,cursys)
    return i


In the above code , have you seen :
for i in xrange (numflightgroups): #number of fgs in a system.

8)

Also in faction_ships.py you could tweak the number of flight groups by systems :
max_flightgroups={"Gemini/Troy":25,"Gemini/Penders_Star":15,"Gemini/Junction":12,"Crucible/Cephid_17":22}
min_flightgroups={"Gemini/Troy":22,"Gemini/Penders_Star":10,"Gemini/Junction":4,"Crucible/Cephid_17":22}


And sure there are many many other ways to achieve a better traffic .
( just check the random_encounters.py file :wink: )
My goal is to create a global traffic driven by a new AI , no more mission scripted only ...
:D


Fantastic work. I spent most of the afternoon looking at Factions.py and Random_Encounters but couldn't make headway.

Ezee - Merci beaucoup for all of your help. I will definitely take a look at your mod when I get into the game.
Never rush a Jalthi head on.
User avatar
-DanR-
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 27
Topics: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:06 am
Location: Cornwall, UK


PreviousNext

Return to User Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron