Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.
Post Reply
WendyJ
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:59 pm

Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by WendyJ »

Hi! I've been a fan of VS for ages and have even contributed when they were using this game engine for the Privateer remake.
Imagine my surprise when I was looking for VS for Linux, so that I could toy with it again.

Since I can no longer abide what doze is doing with the required tattle-tale nature of the entire operating environment, I went to Linux Mint Mate.
I've used Linux before and seldom ever compile my own programmes, since I usually screw them up somehow.
Seeing a NEW version of VS, I was ecstatic. Better still, I didn't have to try to compile it!

I tried running my older versions under Wine, but that wasn't working. The game would start to load, then throw an exception that I didn't understand and had not seen before, when reconfiguring Wine for the games I have and prefer to play.

Rather than try to fight it out, I decided it was time to use this fantastic and very configurable OS the way it was intended. Besides, VS has always had a Native Linux variant. SO ....

I downloaded a few versions, before I found one without a dependency issue, since I can never remember which version of Boo-boo my version of Mint is based on. No, folks, that is NOT me being obnoxious, I always assign cute names to things like that. Boo-boo was the smarter and more pragmatic of the pair in Hanna Barberra's Yogie Bear. It's actually a complimentary nickname. Mint Mate is Yorkie, as in York Peppermint Patties, one of my favourite sweets, or you could even say Peppermint Patty of Peanuts fame if you wanted.

Anywho, I got an error that keeps the game from loading and I don't see anything here or at Git Hub that resembles anything I can try doing to resolve it without a bit more instruction than I see online.

HELP!

As always seems to be the case, I have a VERY atypical machine.
This time around it's an HP Z600 workstation dual core machine with triple channel RAM interleaving instead of the more typical dual channel.

Base Machine Info:

Release Linux Mint 20.2 Uma 64-bit
Kernel Linux 5.4.0-86-generic x86_64
MATE 1.24.0

11.7 Gig RAM (12 Gig ECC RAM in treble interleaved format Linux reports what's left after system use, as if you didn't know)
Twin quad core hyper threaded processors -- Intel® Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz × 16
NVS 300/PCIe/SSE2 Quadro Graphics Card 256 MB DDR3 VRAM

======================================

Problem Found:
Running the game from the Games Sub Menu of the launcher had the game terminating abruptly in 1024 x768 display mode.
Running the config script and changing that to windowed mode at least left me with something I could see after the game exited prematurely, yet it did nothing for my sanity, as the game still exited before it did more than spawn and close a game window.

When run from the terminal, either using vegastrike, OR vs as the command, here is the output from the terminal window.
I've changed my user name to user and my machine name to localmachine.

=================================== PASTE BEGINS =====================================

user@localmachine:~$ vegastrike
[2021-10-04 08:56:05.105452] [0x00007f03ce0a4880] [trace] Registering codec ogg
[2021-10-04 08:56:05.105491] [0x00007f03ce0a4880] [trace] .

Legacy Mode: TRUE
Saving current directory (/home/user) as DATA_DIR
In path /home/user
Vega Strike
See http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html for license details.

GOT SUBDIR ARG =
Found data in /usr/share/vegastrike
Using /usr/share/vegastrike as data directory
Using .vegastrike as the home directory
Found MODDIR = /usr/share/vegastrike/mods
USING HOMEDIR : /home/user/.vegastrike As the home directory
CONFIGFILE - Found a config file in home directory, using : /home/user/.vegastrike/vegastrike.config
DATADIR - No datadir specified in config file, using : /usr/share/vegastrike
Force galaxy to /usr/share/vegastrike/universe/milky_way.xml
SIMULATION_ATOM: 0.01
['/usr/lib/python2.7', '/usr/lib/python2.7/plat-x86_64-linux-gnu', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-tk', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-old', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload']
['', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/builtin', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/quests', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/missions', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/ai', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules', '/usr/share/vegastrike/bases', '/usr/lib/python2.7', '/usr/lib/python2.7/plat-x86_64-linux-gnu', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-tk', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-old', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload']
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::logic_error'
what(): basic_string::_M_construct null not valid
Aborted (core dumped)

========================= Paste Ends =========================

HELP! Any ideas? Please?


EDIT:

Removed and reinstalled VS completely.
Version that worked was: Vega-Strike_v0.7.0-py2-Ubuntu-focal_x86_64.deb with vsUTCS_v0.7.0.deb

As they say insanity is doing the same thing over and over, while expecting different results.
However, this time, I ran the game utilising the -verbose switch.

=============================== Begin Paste ==============================

user@localmachine:~$ vegastrike -verbose
[2021-10-04 10:34:33.251876] [0x00007fdb3d6eb880] [trace] Registering codec ogg
[2021-10-04 10:34:33.251931] [0x00007fdb3d6eb880] [trace] .

Legacy Mode: TRUE
Saving current directory (/home/user) as DATA_DIR
In path /home/user
Vega Strike
See http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html for license details.

ARG #1 = -verbose
GOT SUBDIR ARG =
Found data in /usr/share/vegastrike
Using /usr/share/vegastrike as data directory
Using .vegastrike as the home directory
Found MODDIR = /usr/share/vegastrike/mods
USING HOMEDIR : /home/user/.vegastrike As the home directory
CONFIGFILE - Found a config file in home directory, using : /home/user/.vegastrike/vegastrike.config
DATADIR - No datadir specified in config file, using : /usr/share/vegastrike
Force galaxy to /usr/share/vegastrike/universe/milky_way.xml
SIMULATION_ATOM: 0.01
['/usr/lib/python2.7', '/usr/lib/python2.7/plat-x86_64-linux-gnu', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-tk', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-old', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload']
['', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/builtin', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/quests', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/missions', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/ai', '/usr/share/vegastrike/modules', '/usr/share/vegastrike/bases', '/usr/lib/python2.7', '/usr/lib/python2.7/plat-x86_64-linux-gnu', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-tk', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-old', '/usr/lib/python2.7/lib-dynload']
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::logic_error'
what(): basic_string::_M_construct null not valid
Aborted (core dumped)
user@localmachine:~$

=============================== End Paste ==============================



Contents of the log file: vegastrike_2021-10-03_08_15_29.585641.log were as follows.



=============================== Begin Paste ==============================

[2021-10-03 08:15:29.585498]: MISSION_NAME is empty using : main_menu.mission
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.585836]: Opening CSV database from 'units.csv'
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.585962]: Loading CSV database from 'units.csv'
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.598294]: Opening CSV database from 'units_description.csv'
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.598454]: Loading CSV database from 'units_description.csv'
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.599749]: Textual_Description (1) -> 6
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.599777]: (0) -> 0
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.599793]: Reshaped table holds 89037 cells
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.599818]: Merging rows...
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.601764]: Rows Merged: 281, Rows Added: 446
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.601807]: Merged table holds 141219 cells
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.604941]: running import sys
print(sys.path)
sys.path = ["",r"/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/builtin",r"/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/quests",r"/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/missions",r"/usr/share/vegastrike/modules/ai",r"/usr/share/vegastrike/modules",r"/usr/share/vegastrike/bases"] + sys.path

[2021-10-03 08:15:29.606188]: testing VS random
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.606214]: running import sys
print(sys.path)

[2021-10-03 08:15:29.813214]: Creating scene manager...
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.813298]: Creating template manager...
[2021-10-03 08:15:29.813330]: Initializing renderer...

=============================== End Paste ==============================


What in blazes am I doing wrong?
Yes, I have installed and am running the latest drivers for this particular card, which is listed as GT218 [NVS 300].
It is listed as running the recommended driver.

I'm running the proprietary NVIDIA-340 340.108-Onbuntu5.20.04-2 Binary video driver set.

The config options I selected when running setup are as follows:

Computer: 3-4 Years Old
Physics: Default
Sound: All Sound
Music and Volume: Medium Volume
Geometry: High Detail
Textures: 1024
Faction Textures: ON (More VRAM)
Shaders: Average Shader
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Colour: 32 Bit Colour Windowed
Mouse: Mouse Warping
Joystick: 2 Axis Joystick
Accelerated Visual: On (Recommended)
Text: Bitmap
Auto Docker: On (Experimental)
Censorship: Uncensored

I am NOT using any custom or bespoke settings.
Does anyone even have a clue what I'm screwing up?

Any input would be appreciated.
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5804
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by loki1950 »

Welcome Wendy not sure what's going wrong but will point one of our code mavens here we mostly hang on our Gitter IM channels.Will be getting back to you vert soon.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
the_mtn_who_glides
Trader
Trader
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by the_mtn_who_glides »

Hi, WendyJ. It looks like you're probably running into this issue: https://github.com/vegastrike/Vega-Stri ... issues/554 The key line being the one just before the core dump:

what(): basic_string::_M_construct null not valid

This issue seems to be related to different graphics drivers and how they implement OpenGL. Unfortunately, we don't have a precompiled release yet that fixes it. But if you like, you can try compiling from source, from our master branch. Try both settings for the

Code: Select all

VEGA_STRIKE_PREFER_LEGACY_OPENGL
CMake option -- ON or OFF. One of them will probably work for you. Either way, please let us know the outcome.

Thanks!!
WendyJ
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:59 pm

Re: Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by WendyJ »

Thanks for the quick response.

I'll look into it and see if I can't get a version to compile.
On the outside chance that the issue you pointed me to might be the issue, I saw the first set of instructions to that person, so I ran it. here's the result.

$ glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.108

I'll be spending time reading your responses to that issue thoroughly, although I rather doubt I'll understand much of it. As I said, whenever I compile a programme, I wind up fighting it, since I'm far from a code maven.

Thanks for the response.
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5804
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by loki1950 »

I will send you a PM when we do have a new build available should be in a week or two at the most till then try to compile it your self when you have problems feel free to post here we'er kinda use't walking users though the build process ;)

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5804
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by loki1950 »

Better clarify about when we will have a new build with a fix for the bug will not be until we release 0.8 so it maybe more like a month or two not weeks.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
WendyJ
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console
Just a tourist with a frag'd nav console
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:59 pm

Re: Can't Get v0.7.0 to Run

Post by WendyJ »

Well, Compiling it utilising "cmake ../engine -DVEGA_STRIKE_PREFER_LEGACY_OPENGL=ON" has me at the new game screen. =)

THANKS!

I did it both ways, On and Off and have saved versions of both. If you want a Yorkie version of the engine utilising legacy graphics, you're welcome to my copies. Just tell me where to upload them.

Following the build, I copied both files into /bin after renaming vegastrike-engine to .old and vegasettings to dot old.
Linked the files utilising /home/user/.vegastrike, since I installed via gdebi and it seems to work.
Thanks. I'll let you know if I have any runtime problems after playing a bit.

EDIT

Seems I'll have to tinker with the links, as they only work from the terminal right now.
First thing I noticed was the pause button soft locking the game. No idea why, but there you have it. At least the game works. Now to find more problems on mine. I wnder what else I screwed up.
Post Reply