Cargo Route & Availability Computer

A forum for the discussion and development of programs to assist working on or playing with the Vegastrike engine and data sets.
Post Reply
CoffeeBot
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:25 am
Location: On the counter by the toaster
Contact:

Cargo Route & Availability Computer

Post by CoffeeBot »

Here's my initial crack at it. All it does at this point is give you a list of anything you can buy/sell at bases, and order it by price and availability. Not much, at this point, but hey, it's only v0.2.

Future additions will include
    Best cargo selection from Location A to Location B
    Best cargo selection from Location A to all locations
    Best location to sell cargo X
    Remove ship upgrades as they're not available as cargo (perhaps ships, too)


So, please, work it to death, try to break it, and tell me how it fares. If you do manage to break it (which I won't be surprised if it happens), please give details as to how you did it :)

Without further ado, the link: http://www.coffeebot.net/vs_cargo/
eddit
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:02 am
Location: Hobart, Australia

Post by eddit »

Great tool! A useful feature would be the ability to filter out locations wher ther quantity is low.
"beauty is skin deep
but samples with keratin
are just plain ugly"
XV-745
Trader
Trader
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: The highest state in the U.S. (:erm)

Post by XV-745 »

Even if you never make another update to it, you're my new hero! :D

Now if I could only get the VSNAV "assets" function to work, I'd know which systems had which planet types...

Great toy/tool - I'll let you know if I break it...

XV
CoffeeBot
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:25 am
Location: On the counter by the toaster
Contact:

Post by CoffeeBot »

eddit wrote:Great tool! A useful feature would be the ability to filter out locations wher ther quantity is low.


Could you elaborate? I'm not sure if you mean a simple filter that takes user input to determine the lowest amount to display, or something that monitors your game to tell you what's available. The former is easy, the latter next to impossible unless you run it locally (and I don't know how the game keeps track of available resources).

Glad to know ppl like it, thus far :)
XV-745
Trader
Trader
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: The highest state in the U.S. (:erm)

Post by XV-745 »

One possible bug - I get an empty table when I query "water".

XV
CoffeeBot
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:25 am
Location: On the counter by the toaster
Contact:

Post by CoffeeBot »

Yep. Good call, XV.

I made the DB entry too short for the resources list, so the category names got truncated, and therefore don't match when queried. I'll have to fix that when I get home.

Massive bug that effects a lot of items. Thanks!
Wisq
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:21 am

Post by Wisq »

Nice. Bit like the Perl script I had to report on the contents & prices of commodities at an individual base type, but in reverse, showing all the base types for a given commodity.
eddit
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:02 am
Location: Hobart, Australia

Post by eddit »

CoffeeBot wrote:Could you elaborate? I'm not sure if you mean a simple filter that takes user input to determine the lowest amount to display, or something that monitors your game to tell you what's available. The former is easy, the latter next to impossible unless you run it locally (and I don't know how the game keeps track of available resources).


The former. :D If you are looking for a place to buy somthing cheap, for example Coffee, and sort by price, the places with the cheepest price (like species other than human) also often have 0 quantities. It would be great if you could exclude those places, or at least specify a minimum purchase amount.
"beauty is skin deep
but samples with keratin
are just plain ugly"
CoffeeBot
Intrepid Venturer
Intrepid Venturer
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:25 am
Location: On the counter by the toaster
Contact:

Post by CoffeeBot »

@eddit: I'll add it in. The remove 0-quantity locations, that is.

@Wisq: Doing it in reverse is next. And then it'll do all sorts of neat stuff, like wash dishes!

...okay, no dishwashing. But neat stuff, for sure :)

And pretty it up. CSS is good for pretty.
Snafu
Merchant
Merchant
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:25 pm
Location: UK

Post by Snafu »

Coffee, did you fix that empty table bug yet?
Dom 8-)

VS 0.4.3

W2K latest SP + bugfixes
Athlon XP3000+ 1Gb RAM
ATI Radeon 9600, Catalyst 5.8 drivers
no joystick
Post Reply