cockpits

Talk among developers, and propose and discuss general development planning/tackling/etc... feature in this forum.
Dhudeme
Explorer
Explorer

cockpits

Post by Dhudeme »

I want to modify my own. but beeing a total newbee could you please explain it to me in detail. Please
I was human once
hellcatv
Developer
Developer

Post by hellcatv »

take a look at the cockpits folder

in there you see a lot of folders named blah.cpt
then within those you see a file with the same name
edit that...you can change gauges...you can even specify a background image (check out the privateer remake mod on the front page for examples of how 2d cockpits could look)
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Dhudeme
Explorer
Explorer

Post by Dhudeme »

yes but how do I edit the .cpt files
I was human once
Dhudeme
Explorer
Explorer

Post by Dhudeme »

Oh, I got it some text editor, right.
I was human once
Dhudeme
Explorer
Explorer

Post by Dhudeme »

could you tell me about .xmesh files now please :roll:
I was human once
f1gm3nt3d
Trader
Trader

Post by f1gm3nt3d »

xmesh is the old model format for vegastrike I think it is deprecated but still supported. What you really want to use is the .bfxm format. Theres a conevrter in the artwork forum AFAIK. Also you need to download the opensource modeling program ?cube?(ehm sorry don't remember but there should be a sticky in artwork for taht too the same thread also has the plugin to export with.) Thats for editing the 3d cockpit models. You also had to do something crazy like re-order the polygons in some kind of way, suppousedly the plugin was suppoused to do this but if it was a complex cockpit (~100 polies in my experience) it would thrash it all up. If you're talking about the layout of the various HUD things then I have no clue.
pifactorial
Bounty Hunter
Bounty Hunter

Post by pifactorial »