The Guns

Talk among developers, and propose and discuss general development planning/tackling/etc... feature in this forum.
bengreenwood
Merchant
Merchant

The Guns

Post by bengreenwood »

Hi,

I started playing Vega Strike a couple of months back, then stopped due to lots of uni work. But I'm getting back into it. now. I recently downloaded the 0.5 release, and it's awesome- it seems a lot more stable than the last version I played, with more awe-inspiring graphics. I'm enjoying just flying around, trading shit.

One thing that I think could be improved though- the weapons are a bit of a letdown compared to other stuff in the game. Your lasers seem kind of flickery when they fire. The sound effects aren't so great either. I think Elite on the Amiga had more satisfying graphics/ sound effects on the weapons. I dunno if anyone's played Homeworld but the weapons in that are spectacular. It'd be cool to have stuff a bit more impressive like those are.

So is there any chance they'll be improved? Also, how's about making it so that you can have an option to see your guns on your screen? That would look fearsome if you had one pointing forward from each of the four corners.
Moe479
Merchant
Merchant

Post by Moe479 »

well in PU (vegastrikemod) they r visible, in vs i think they lack a full set of weapon-models atm, and even then its likewise that it will destroy the look of some vessels cause some r not realy designed around a hardpoint-system :wink:
Deus Siddis
Elite
Elite

Post by Deus Siddis »

I whole-heartedly agree, besides ship/weapon balance/variety, this is the biggest gap in VS 0.5, the lack of any feeling of power or realism in the weapons, they just have no real aesthetic bite.