Ship concept work

Thinking about improving the Artwork in Vega Strike, or making your own Mod? Submit your question and ideas in this forum.

Moderator: pyramid

Primordial
Merchant
Merchant

Ship concept work

Post by Primordial »

I'm interested in doing some concept art for the ships that need either a re-design or an entirely new concept. I've got a lot of time on my hands right now, so I'm looking to expand my art limits - I'm not very good with mechanical things but this is a good way of getting better.
Anyway, are there any specific ships that are wanting concept artwork in particular, or should I just start working my way down the 3D models list from the Wiki?

Also, are there references to specific factional styles?

Cheers in advance.
loki1950
The Shepherd

Re: Ship concept work

Post by loki1950 »

First off welcome aboard there is some info on each factions personal preferences then it's just a matter of throwing us some images to comment on(tear apart :wink: )constructively.obj mtl files have become the default way interchanging models although .blend files are more common we most of us can't afford commercial modeling software 8) so Blender fills a need.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
Primordial
Merchant
Merchant

Post by Primordial »

I can't model to the extent you guys need, I'm just going to throw out some 2D stuff for the other 3D people to work with.

Edit: first concept piece for the Aeran 'Acrotatus', civilian transport.

I wanted to get a general shape down before doing anything detailed. I wasn't sure if I've managed to get he 'Aeran' feel to it. They're surprisingly difficult to get, it's like a mixture of mechanical space-ship readability, crossed with semi-organic sleek and dangerous aesthetic designed.