Poltergheist...

For collaboration on developing the mod capabilities of VS; request new features, report bugs, or suggest improvements

Moderator: Mod Contributor

Post Reply
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Poltergheist...

Post by chuck_starchaser »

One user is showing graphical hallucinations here:
http://wcjunction.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=7561#7561
What could a spheremap be doing hanging there on a billboard?

His system is pretty standard:
gorbalad wrote:Athlon 64 X2 Dual 3800+ (2GHz)
2048 mb RAM
WinXP Pro
Nvidia GeForce 7300GT 256MB
safemode
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by safemode »

I got no idea what is going on there, but sphere maps are generated by the game and placed in the ~/.vegastrike/textures/backgounds directory. They're nowhere else, so they can't be mistakenly used. This is either a hoax or the binary they are using has been corrupted, either from a bad compiler opt, or bit corruption.
Ed Sweetman endorses this message.
ace123
Lead Network Developer
Lead Network Developer
Posts: 2560
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:13 am
Location: Palo Alto CA
Contact:

Post by ace123 »

I believe that is the type of problem that shows up when you have missing textures and the game is unable to fallback.

The errors will start to spread throughout every new texture once one texture fails to load.

Not sure if it prints when it fails to load a texture, but that's what you should be looking for.
safemode
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by safemode »

if that's the case, then we should have the game fail and exit when such a non-fallback error occurs. Obviously the game is not runnable in such a situation.
Ed Sweetman endorses this message.
loki1950
The Shepherd
Posts: 5799
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 8:37 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Post by loki1950 »

This may be related to http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/forum ... hp?t=10952 and may be fixed ATM.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 19.2/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo ideapad 320-15ARB Win 10/Mint 19.2
safemode
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by safemode »

I believe it is fixed, but the behavior of not exiting the game in this situation is broken still. We really should not allow the game to continue.
Ed Sweetman endorses this message.
Post Reply