A bug in parallel universe? Help me please

Forum for discussing various mods for the VS-engine based upon Privateer. (Please play nice now, and extinguish all flaming materials.
Sincerely, The Management)
random_guy
Star Pilot
Star Pilot

A bug in parallel universe? Help me please

Post by random_guy »

Apologies if this has been addressed before, I did a search but couldn't find anything.

Here's the problem: I found out about the Parallel Universe Mod and wanted to use it, so I copy/pasted my privateer remake files into a new directory and unzipped the .rar to the new directory.

But I didn't want to start a new game (this is my first time through privateer), so I loaded my old game from PR. The problem is, now I don't seem to get any random encounters with enemies. Friendly ships show up but not enemies. I've even done two dangerous run cargo missions, but still no enemies. FYI, the factions I am currently enemies with are pirates and retros.

If I do a bounty mission, enemies seem to show up, but otherwise nothing. Has anyone encountered this bug before, and is there any way to fix it other than starting a new game or going back to playing the vanilla privateer remake?

editAlso: Am I right in thinking that doing missions for one guild affects your pay for the other? I was getting missions for 40-60G+ at the Merchants' guild, and 10-15G at the mercenaries' guild. Now after adding a fully-loaded Centurion to my fleet and doing a couple of mercenary missions, the merchant's guild only seems to be paying me 20-30G for their missions, and the mercenarys' guild doesn't seem to be paying much better easer :( (about 5G more).
Dilloh
Elite Hunter
Elite Hunter

Post by Dilloh »

Never heard of this before- I'd recommend to use the newest PU available, available in the link below in my signature. It has only few downloads by now, but no bug reports yet. I'm not too familiar with any PU version before 1.1b6, but I assume those versions had many many bugs.