A Call for Better Sound FX!

For collaboration between the different artists creating music and sound for vegastrike.
Accu-Accelerated
Hunter
Hunter

A Call for Better Sound FX!

Post by Accu-Accelerated »

I think that Vega Strike's sound falls behind its music, gameplay, and graphics. Most of the laser/weapon effects are just cheesy, wierd, and sometimes really annoying. The sound effect when there's a collision doesn't sound realistic at all. The explosions just lack oomph and are often too short. In fact, I turn off sound when I play Vega Strike because it detracts from the game for me. There is lots of development in terms of making models for ships and taking screenshots, and making more music, which is all valid and good work, but I think that re-doing the sound effects deserves more attention. I'm not experienced in making sound effects, but I don't think it's very hard to provide a simple, but better-sounding laser or better explosion effects. I hope some more progress will be made in sound.
Halleck
Elite
Elite

Post by Halleck »

Good sound work is harder than it seems. We might try scrounging the freesound project to see if there are any samples that could be used as a base.

Post by Guest »

If there is interest in new sound I am active in home audio production and can probably come up with some.

I am also getting into photography and videography and can supply cargo images too if they are needed. I may even be able to do vidcoms with actors too as they're always looking for something... but I think there's still work on developing the factions...

I was just wondering where would I submit this stuff... just post it to the board?
zekthedeadcow
Explorer
Explorer

Post by zekthedeadcow »

opps... forgot to login :)
klauss
Elite
Elite

Post by klauss »

For sounds, yes... just post them. I'll download, archive and even put them ingame (if applicable).